Skip Navigation
image of a construction plan

Department ofPlanning

The Department formulates policies, plans and regulations to guide the County’s growth and development for future generations.

Upcoming Public Meeting

Learn more about the virtual "Reimagine Security Square" kickoff meeting being held on Tuesday, September 13.

Most Popular Services

The Department of Planning implements programs and projects that strengthen existing communities, revitalize older commercial centers and preserve rural resources.


  • Reimagine Security Square—Baltimore County will host a design charrette, a collaborative process that will engage Woodlawn-area residents and community leaders in reimagining the Security Square Mall area. The charrette, scheduled to take place in October 2022, will provide a forum for ideas and feedback, allowing everyone who participates to contribute as an author of the plan for the site. On September 13, 2022 at 6:30 p.m. join the kickoff meeting, held virtually through Webex.

  • Maryland Sustainable Communities Renewal—The Sustainable Communities designation must be renewed every five years. Catonsville and Essex renewal designations are currently being pursued. These renewal applications provide an opportunity for local governments to involve the community in developing a five-year vision for their area, to outline new strategies and set new priorities. On October 11, 2022 at 6 p.m. join the kickoff meeting, held virtually through Webex.

  • Essex Technical Assistance Panel (TAP)—A Technical Assistance Panel was recently held to identify improvements to Eastern Boulevard in Essex. During the TAP, experts were invited to tour the area, meet with key stakeholders and share their findings, conclusions and implementable recommendations. 

  • Master Plan 2030—The formulating of Baltimore County's Master Plan 2030 is under way, and when complete, will provide the vision and strategies for growth over the next 10 years into a modern, 21st century County.

Register Your Business or Community Association

View a list of existing associations within the County, or complete the online form to receive notifications regarding community issues, development proposals and upcoming studies, events and input meetings.

Contact Us

Department of Planning

The Jefferson Building, Suite 101
105 West Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204






Stephen Lafferty

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.