Skip Navigation

Photo Stream


Baltimore County News

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
  1. Maryland Lynching Memorial Project Hosting Community Forum on January 25th at Goucher College

    Public Discussion To Be Held on the Legacy of Lynching and How It Can Be Meaningfully Addressed

    Update: Due to the winter weather forecast, this event has been postponed until Saturday, January 25, 2020.

    The Baltimore County Committee of the Maryland Lynching Memorial Project (MD LMP) will hold a community meeting focused on the history of racial terrorism and lynchings and exploring ideas for community remembrance projects.

    The event, organized by the MD LMP with support from Baltimore County Government and Goucher College, will be held on Saturday, January 25 from 10 a.m. to Noon in the Hyman Forum of the Athenaeum at Goucher College, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Towson, Maryland 21204.

    The agenda includes films and presentations by local historians, community leaders and others. A significant portion of the meeting will be reserved for a public discussion on the legacy of lynching and how it can be meaningfully addressed.

    The Maryland Lynching Memorial Project is a 501 (c)(3) organization that works to advance the cause of reconciliation in our state by documenting the history of racial terror lynchings in Maryland; advocating for public acknowledgement of these murders; and working to honor the lives of the victims. The MD LMP is currently working with coalitions in 14 of the 18 Maryland counties where racial terror lynchings have been documented.

    Fri, 17 Jan 2020 18:37:00 GMT
  2. Deadline to Request an Absentee Ballot for the 2020 Special Primary Election for the Seventh Congressional District

    How to Request and Vote by Absentee Ballot

    The State of Maryland has declared a special election for Maryland’s Congressional District 7 to fill the House of Representatives vacancy.

    The deadline to request a 2020 Special Primary Election absentee ballot for mail delivery is Tuesday, January 28.

    The deadline to request a Special Primary Election absentee ballot for online delivery is Friday, January 31.

    Any voter registered as Democrat or Republican in Maryland’s Congressional District 7 may request and vote by absentee ballot, either:

    • Online: Voters with a Maryland driver’s license or MVA-issued ID card can request an absentee ballot online or print an application. If a voter wishes to receive an absentee ballot online, the Baltimore County Board of Elections must receive a completed absentee ballot application either:
      • ​Submitted by mail by 5 p.m. on Friday, January 31
      • Submitted online, by email or fax by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, January 31
    • By mail: If a voter wishes to receive an absentee ballot by mail, the Board of Elections must receive a completed absentee ballot application either:
      • Submitted by mail by 8 p.m. on Tuesday, January 28
      • Submitted online, by email or fax by 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, January 28
    • By submitting a signed application
    • By telephone: Call the Board of Elections at 410-887-5700.
    • In writing
    • In person: Visit the Board of Elections at 11112 Gilroy Road, Suite 104 in Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

    Note: If a voter misses the applicable deadline, the absentee ballot request must be made in person at the Baltimore County Board of Elections.

    Find Your Congressional District

    Only voters registered as Democrat or Republican in Congressional District 7 can vote in the 2020 Special Primary Election. Voters can find their Congressional District online or check to see if they are registered in Congressional District 7.

    More Information

    The 2020 Special Primary Election for Congressional District 7 will be held on Tuesday, February 4. There will be no early voting for the Special Primary Election. Voters can vote by mailing their absentee ballot to their local Board of Elections or by visiting their polling place on the Special Primary’s election day.

    For more information about the Special Primary Election, contact the Baltimore County Board of Elections at 410-887-5700 or contact the State Board of Elections at 1-800-222-VOTE (8683).

    Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:29:00 GMT
  3. Baltimore County Offices Closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    Trash and Recycling Collection Normal, Drop-off Facilities Open

    Baltimore County government offices, and the District and Circuit Courts, will be closed on Monday, January 20 in recognition of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Health department clinics, libraries and senior centers will be closed, and CountyRide vans will not operate. Parking meters must be fed and Baltimore County Revenue Authority parking garages will be open as usual.
    Trash and recyclables will be collected according to the normal schedule. The County’s trash and recycling drop-off facilities will be open. Residents can log onto the Bureau of Solid Waste Management’s website for more information about recycling and trash collection, including schedules and drop-off center locations and hours. Residents may also call the Bureau of Solid Waste Management at 410-887-2000.
    Collection schedules are also available on the County’s BaltCoGo app, available on mobile phones.

    Thu, 16 Jan 2020 18:47:00 GMT
  4. Baltimore County Releases New Online Snow Plowing Status Tool

    Residents Will Have Increased Access to Data for Street Plowing Updates During Severe Snow Events 

    Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski today announced a new, online tool for residents to monitor roads during severe snow events. The new Snow Route Status Map, will provide residents a simple, color-coded status of snow plow routes.

    “The new online tool is another step in increasing government transparency and will improve the quality of experience we provide residents,” said County Executive Johnny Olszewski. “By providing this information more efficiently, we can help the public better understand where we are working and do more to keep the public safe during storms.”

    During large snow events, County offices are often flooded with calls from residents requesting updates on street plowing status. With the new Snow Route Status Map, residents will have increased access to information regarding the salting and plowing of individual snow routes.

    The status of each snow route is represented by the following:

    • Red—Salting and plowing not started
    • Yellow—Crews at work
    • Green—Operations complete
    • Gray—No County salting or plowing service available

    The data for the Snow Route Status Map is provided by Baltimore County Department of Public Works crews who send in reports to supervisors, who then log their progress. Approximate plowing times vary by snowfall event.

    Visit Baltimore County Stormfighter for more information or to report a storm-related issue. For other reports or requests, please visit BaltCoGo.

    Fri, 10 Jan 2020 18:15:00 GMT
Read More From Baltimore County News