Department of Aging
Print this page.
 

Medicare Prescription Drug Program

Outreach Initiative

The Baltimore County Department of Aging (BCDA) State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) will be offering one-on-one Part D research assistance during Fall 2015 for the Medicare Part D Open Enrollment from October 15 through December 7. Any changes in Part D coverage will become effective January 1, 2016. The schedule for Part D open enrollment events at Baltimore County senior centers will be posted by September.

Call the SHIP office at 410-887-2059 to schedule an appointment at a senior center convenient to you. SHIP will also provide enrollment assistance at the BCDA Baby Boomer Senior Expo at Timonium Fairgrounds. The SHIP staff will assist Medicare beneficiaries and their families to select the most economical prescription plan that covers their drug needs.

About Part D

  • All Medicare Beneficiaries need to evaluate whether their current coverage is “creditable,” meaning equal to or better than the Medicare Prescription Drug Program. If you delay enrolling in the Medicare Prescription Drug Program when you are first eligible and your current prescription coverage is not “creditable,” you will pay a one percent higher premium per month for every month you did not join a plan.
  • When selecting a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan, it is important to make an educated decision when selecting or making changes to your current plan, or evaluating whether to keep your current plan or change to a new plan in the following calendar year.
    • Research and compare various drug plans with your medications' list to select the best coverage for you based on cost, coverage, or access.
    • Call the Baltimore County SHIP Office at 410-887-2059. The SHIP staff will perform the online research that is necessary for you to select the most economical Part D plan which covers your prescription drugs.
  • The Medicare Prescription Drug Program has a monthly premium that varies with each plan, associated with its coverage.
    • Drug plans may also have deductibles.
    • Drug plans have co-payments toward the cost of prescriptions.
    • When you join the Medicare Prescription Drug Program and use the plan’s network pharmacies, you will pay less.
  • Each drug plan has a different list of drugs it will cover called a “formulary list.” You will need to check which drug plan covers all or most of your medications at the best cost. Exceptions may be granted by your drug plan.
  • There is extra help, federal and state, for those who are low-income eligible. It is important to apply in a timely manner.
    • Premiums can be reduced or eliminated
    • Other payments can be decreased.

2015 Part D Plan Schedule

Call 410-887-2059 to schedule an appointment. 

Date

Location

Thursday, October 15

Essex Senior Center, 600 Dorsey Avenue, Essex 21221

Friday, October 16

Cockeysville Senior Center, 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Monday, October 19

Seven Oaks Senior Center, 9210 Seven Courts Drive, Baltimore 21236

Tuesday, October 20

Liberty Senior Center, 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown 21133

Wednesday, October 21

Bykota Senior Center, 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Thursday, October 22

Parkville Senior Center, 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Friday, October 23

Catonsville Senior Center 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Monday, October 26

Cockeysville Senior Center, 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, October 27

Bykota Senior Center, 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Wednesday, October 28

Baby Boomer-Senior Expo, Timonium Fairgrounds 20193

Thursday, October 29

Baby Boomer-Senior Expo, Timonium Fairgrounds 21093

Friday, October 30

Pikesville Senior Center, 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Monday, November 2

Bykota Senior Center, 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Tuesday, November 3

Ateaze Senior Center, 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Wednesday, November 4

Arbutus Senior Center, 855A Sulphur Spring Road, Arbutus 21227

Thursday, November 5

Essex Senior Center, 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Friday, November 6

Parkville Senior Center, 8401 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Tuesday, November 10

Ateaze Senior Center, 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Thursday, November 12

Essex Senior Center, 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Friday, November 13

Pikesville Senior Center, 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Monday, November 16

Parkville Senior Center, 8401 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Tuesday, November 17

Liberty Senior Center, 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown, 21133

Wednesday, November 18

Parkville Senior Center, 8401 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Thursday, November 19

Pikesville Senior Center, 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Friday, November 20

Catonsville Senior Center, 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Monday, November 23

Cockeysville Senior Center, 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, November 24

Ateaze Senior Center, 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Wednesday, November 25

Jacksonville Senior Center, 3605A Sweet Air Road, Phoenix 21131

Monday, November 30

Lansdowne Senior Center, 424 Third Avenue, Lansdowne 21227

Tuesday, December 1

Bykota Senior Center, 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Wednesday, December, 2

Pikesville Senior Center, 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

 Thursday, December 3

Essex Senior Center, 600 Dorsey Avenue, Essex 21221

Friday, December 4

Reisterstown Senior Center, 12035 Reisterstown Road 21136

Revised September 1, 2015

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*