Skip Navigation

Community Planning

The Community Planning Division is organized into three geographic sectors (northern, eastern, western) and serves as the primary contact for planning-related matters.

Current Initiatives

A number of community planning initiatives are currently underway. Your engagement is needed for these studies.

Main Street Maryland

The Main Street Maryland program is a place-based designation that strives to strengthen the economic potential of Maryland’s traditional main streets and neighborhoods. Learn more about the County's approved main streets in Dundalk, Reisterstown and the Towson affiliate designation.

Sustainable Communities

The Sustainable Communities Program is a place-based designation offering a comprehensive package of resources that support holistic strategies for community development, revitalization and sustainability.

Catonsville and Essex Sustainable Community renewal designations are currently being pursued. The state requires local government to renew Sustainable Communities designation every five years. This renewal application provides an opportunity for local governments to involve the community in developing a five-year vision for their area, to outline new strategies and set new priorities.

View a list of approved sustainable communities​​.

The goals of developing and renewing a Sustainable Community designation are:

  • Involve the community in developing a long-term vision for that area
  • Define policies and actions that will guide how the area should be maintained or changed in the future
  • Identify future land uses in an overall community-wide context
  • Recommend future infrastructure improvements
  • Provide design guidance and implementation guidance for private and public investments and strategies that should be pursued to realize the vision for the area

Some recommendations in the Sustainable Community Area Plan may take the form of:

  • Land use and zoning amendments
  • Plans for open space
  • Future transportation studies and projects
  • Capital projects
  • Renderings and sketches depicting urban design guidelines for the area
  • Items requiring further study

Watch the training from Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) and  representatives about the various state revitalization programs and funding available to communities located in the Sustainable Community designation and Main Street designation.

Contact Your Community Planner

To learn more about your sector or current initiatives happening within your community, contact the planner listed below.

Western Sector

Contact InformationAreasInitiatives
Ngone Seye Diop
Lead Planner, Western Sector
  • Randallstown
  • Security
  • Windsor Mill
  • Woodlawn
Northwest Gateways Sustainable Community Area Plan
Sophie Kotzker
Planner, Western Sector
  • Arbutus
  • Baltimore Highlands
  • Catonsville
  • Halethorpe
Arbutus Sustainable Community Designation
Alexandra Laham
Planner, Western Sector
  • Garrison Forest
  • Glyndon
  • Owings Mills
  • Pikesville
  • Reisterstown
  • Ruxton
Pikesville Revitalization Action Plan

Northern Sector

Contact InformationAreasInitiatives
Megan Benjamin
Lead Planner, Northern Sector
  • Cockeysville
  • Glencoe
  • Hereford
  • Hunt Valley
  • Loveton
  • Monkton
  • My Ladys Manor
  • Phoenix
  • Sparks
  • Timonium
  • White Hall
David Birkenthal
Northern Sector
  • Carroll Manor
  • Cromwell Valley
  • Fork
  • Glen Arm
  • Hampton
  • Jacksonville
  • Kingsville
  • Long Green
  • Sweet Air
Joe Wiley
Northern Sector
  • Butler
  • Caves Valley
  • Chestnut Ridge
  • Freeland
  • Glyndon
  • Granite
  • Greenspring Valley
  • Hampstead
  • Hernwood
  • Hunt Valley
  • Lutherville
  • Manchester
  • Maryland Line
  • Mays Chapel
  • Parkton
  • Patapsco
  • Rayville
  • Stevenson
  • Upperco
  • Wards Chapel
  • Worthington

Eastern Sector

Contact InformationAreasInitiatives
Te-Sheng Huang
Lead Planner, Eastern Sector
  • Carney
  • Cub Hill
  • Honeygo
  • Loch Raven
  • Overlea
  • Parkville
  • Perry Hall
  • Perry Hall (west of Belair Road)
  • Rosedale
  • Towson
  • White Marsh
Eastern Sector
  • Bowley’s Quarters
  • Chase
  • Essex
  • Greenleigh
  • Middle River
  • Pulaski
Essex Technical Assistance Panel (TAP)
Eastern Sector
  • Dundalk
  • Edgemere
  • Fort Howard
  • Lower Back River Neck
  • North Point
  • Sparrows Point
  • Turner Station
  • Wells-McComas

Explore Community Planning

Contact Us

Community Planning

The Jefferson Building, Suite 101
105 West Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204




Division Chief

Ngone Seye Diop

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.