Skip Navigation

All dogs and cats four months of age or older and kept in Baltimore County for longer than 30 days per year must be licensed annually. You must provide a copy of a valid rabies certificate to apply for or to renew an animal license. The license period is July 1 through June 30. You must renew your license each year between May 1 and July 31 to avoid penalty fees.

All applications must be approved by Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses prior to issuance. Failure to provide all information may result in your application being rejected. Service dog and holding facility licenses cannot be completed online.

Apply or Renew Online

Animal license applications and renewals are available online, 24 hours a day.

To get started, you'll need:

  • A valid email address
  • A valid Visa or MasterCard to pay applicable fees
  • An electronic copy of a valid rabies certificate you can upload

If you do not have an electronic copy of your rabies certificate, you must renew by mail.

New Online Application

If you're applying for a new license or you renewed by mail or in person last year, begin a new online application. You may need to create an account before applying for a license.

 

Renew Your Online License

If you've applied or renewed online in the past, log in to your account and renew your existing license.

 

Apply or Renew by Mail

To apply by mail, print and submit a completed animal license application, as well as an up-to-date rabies vaccination certificate and applicable fees. Materials may be submitted by mail to:

Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses
County Office Building, Room 101
111 West Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204
410-887-3630

 

Fees

Type

Fees

Penalty Fee After August 15

Altered Animal License
(Owner under 60 years of age)

$7

$12.25

Altered Animal License
(Owner over 60 years of age)

$7

$12.25

Unaltered Animal License
(Owner under 60 years of age)

$17

$29.75

Unaltered Animal License
(Owner over 60 years of age)

$11

$19.25

License Tag Replacement

$5

Not applicable

Licensing a Service Dog

Service dogs require a completed affidavit form in addition to the completed animal license application to request a license.

Download and follow the instructions for applying for a service dog license. There is no fee for licensing service dogs and the "service dog tag" does not change annually.

Licensing More Than Three Dogs in a Home

If you have more than three dogs, you are required to obtain a holding facility or kennel license. To find out if you are zoned for a holding facility or kennel license, please determine your zoning classification by visiting My Neighborhood, as well as, contact the Zoning Review Office at 410-887-3391 or paizoning@baltimorecountymd.gov to determine that your property is within a permitted zone. If your holding facility, kennel or property address is located within a permitted zone, download and complete the application. For questions regarding the application process, contact Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses at 410-887-3616.

For additional information on County Animal Laws, see Article 12 of the Baltimore County Code or visit Baltimore County Animal Services.

 

Explore Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses

 

Contact Us

Development Management

County Office Building
111 West Chesapeake Avenue
Room 114
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone

Phone for Animal Licenses Only

410-887-3630

Fax

410-887-4578

BALTCOGO311

Processing Supervisor

Traci Davis

 
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.