Skip Navigation

Report an Abandoned Motor Vehicle

If this is an emergency, crime in progress or immediate need for medical assistance, call 911.

Warning: It is a crime to make false statements and/or misuse electronic communication. Violators will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.


Reporting an abandoned motor vehicle online is designed to make filing a police report easier and more convenient for you; however, not all abandoned motor vehicles can be reported online.

What is an Abandoned Motor Vehicle?

An abandoned vehicle is defined as a vehicle parked on a public roadway or private property that:

  • Is visibly inoperable or;
  • Is not displaying current, valid registration or;
  • Is illegally parked for more than 48 hrs.

Does My Report Qualify?

Answer the qualifying questions below to determine if your report can be filed online. If your report qualifies, you will be provided with a link to file your report.

Citizen Online Reporting System Disclaimer

You are about to launch the Citizen Online Reporting Application. Please read the disclaimer below before proceeding.

This web site provides a means of Submitting a Police Report that can be used by the public to report crime.

1. To report an emergency or crime in progress call 911 immediately.
2. On this web site you may report abandoned vehicle(s), destruction of property, destruction of vehicle(s), hit and run, lost property, theft and theft from a vehicle. For an immediate response please use your telephone and dial 911.
3. We encourage good faith reporting of information regarding a crime through this web site. The Baltimore County Police Department reserves the right to contact you to verify or clarify the information you provide.
4. Pursuant to Maryland law it is a crime to make false statements and/or misuse electronic communication. Violators will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
Acceptance of the above terms is required in order to continue to the Online Police Report.

The application which you are filing is being filed under oath.
§ 9-501. False statement - To law enforcement officer.

(a) Prohibited.- A person may not make, or cause to be made, a statement, report, or complaint that the person knows to be false as a whole or in material part, to a law enforcement officer of the State, of a county, municipal corporation, or other political subdivision of the State, or of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Police with intent to deceive and to cause an investigation or other action to be taken as a result of the statement, report, or complaint.

(b) Penalty.- A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.
[An. Code 1957, art. 27, § 150(a), (c); 2002, ch. 26, § 2.]
If your incident qualifies for an online report and you wish to continue,

File a Report Online
Revised April 14, 2021         


A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

@BaltCoPolice Twitter

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*