Skip Navigation

Tobacco Services Program

Baltimore County Department of Health
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212-2130
Email: tobacco@baltimorecountymd.gov

Phone: 410-887-3828
TTY users call Maryland Relay 7-1-1

Tobacco Use Prevention and Cessation Program

The Baltimore County Tobacco Use Prevention and Cessation Program provides education and assistance to local individuals and groups regarding tobacco use, prevention and cessation.

Goals

The Tobacco Use Prevention and Cessation Program has four goals:

  • Prevent initiation of tobacco and electronic smoking devices among youth and adults
  • Protect residents from secondhand smoke
  • Eliminate disparities related to tobacco use and its effect on different populations
  • Help residents quit smoking

Free Quit Smoking Help

Free virtual classes are being offered to help residents quit tobacco and vape use. These programs use a positive behavior change approach and help participants develop their own plan on how to quit. By the end of the program, participants will learn about reducing stress, cravings, withdrawal symptoms and how to control weight gain while resisting the urge to smoke.

Free nicotine replacement patches, gum, lozenges and Chantix (with prescription) is available to those attending cessation classes.

Personal Quit Smoking Help

Register to attend one of the following classes. InControl class is a series of five sessions (one a week for five weeks) and Fresh Start class is a series of four sessions (one a week for four weeks).

  • InControl Virtual Program by Baltimore County Department of Health
    Every Tuesday, July 13 to August 10, from noon to 1 p.m.
    To register, call 410-887-0565 or email tobacco@baltimorecountymd.gov.

Individual counseling is also available by phone, for English call 410-887-0592 or Spanish, call 443-257-8384.

Call the 24/7 Quitline

If you're unable to attend an event, help is still available. Call 1-800-Quit-Now (1-800-784-8669) for free phone counseling and nicotine replacement patches. The Quitline is open 24/7 for those 13 years of age and older. English and other languages are available.

Self-Help Resources

American Cancer Society
8219 Town Center Drive
White Marsh, Maryland 21236
Phone: 1-800-227-2345

American Heart Association         
415 North Charles Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: 410-560-2120

American Lung Association
211 East Lombard Street, Suite 260
Baltimore, Maryland  21202
Phone: 443-451-4950

Baltimore City Department of Health
1001 East Fayette Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Phone: 410-396-1438

The list of self-help resources is for educational assistance only. No endorsement of any program is intended.

Community Funding Opportunities

Community, youth and faith-based organizations are encouraged to apply for tobacco education funding (PDF), up to $5,000, to conduct a tobacco education program in Baltimore County. The Department intends to award funding to at least 10 organizations whose proposals best meet the needs of the County. 

Outreach

Program staff are available to attend events, offer resources and provide information to individuals and groups. To request staff attendance or materials to provide at outreach events, complete the Community Event Request Form.

Sales to Underage Youth

The Baltimore County Department of Health is responsible for enforcing laws that restrict youth access to tobacco. In Baltimore County, it is illegal to:

  • Sell tobacco products to underage persons (effective October 1, 2019 the legal age of purchase is 21)
  • Have tobacco products stored or displayed within reach of the public
  • Sell tobacco to anyone under the age of 27 without checking photo identification

Violation of the tobacco laws can result in the following fines:

  • Sale of tobacco products to underage persons (effective October 1, 2019 the legal age of purchase is 21)
    • First violation—$500
    • Second violation—$1000
    • Third or subsequent violation—$1500
  • Not checking photo identification of individuals under the age of 27
    • First violation—warning
    • Second violation—$100
    • Third or subsequent violation—$250

A retailer's license to sell tobacco may be suspended or revoked if repeated violations occur.

Report Retail Violations

To report retailers who violate the law or to file a complaint, call 410-887-0575 or email tobacco@baltimorecountymd.gov.

 
Revised June 25, 2021         

 

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

Department of Health and Human Services logo

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*