Skip Navigation

Family Law Resources

Below is a list of resources that are available in Baltimore County.

Baltimore County Office of Child Support

170 West Ridgley Road Suite 200
Lutherville, Maryland 21093-5123
Phone: 1-800-332-6347

This office will file for a Child Support Order and provide location and enforcement services for residents of Baltimore County and others who qualify on a legal jurisdictional basis. Services provided include legal establishment of the support obligation, enforcement of existing Court orders including civil and criminal contempt citations and license suspensions, and the collection and disbursement of child support payments. Applications may be requested by mail, phone, or in person. A $25 application fee, made payable to the Baltimore County Office of Child Support Enforcement, is required.

Collaborative Law

Collaborative law is a new dispute resolution model in which both parties to the dispute retain separate, specially-trained lawyers whose only job is to help them settle the dispute. All participants agree to work together respectfully, honestly and in good faith to try to find "win-win" solutions to the problems in the dispute. Parties enter into a contract, agreeing not go to court, or even threaten to do so. If a party does decide to go to court, the collaborative law process terminates and both lawyers are disqualified from any further involvement in the case. Lawyers hired for a collaborative law representation can never, under any circumstances, go to court for the clients who retained them. 

You can get more information about collaborative law by contacting the following organization:

The Collaborative Roundtable at Baltimore
Phone: 443-660-9197
Contact Person: Ali Dansker Doyle, Esquire

Cooperative Co-Education Classes and Office of Family Mediation

County Courts Building, 401 Bosley Avenue, Room 515
Phone: 410-887-6570

This division offers free classes designed to assist concerned parents in focusing on their children's needs during separation and divorce. Separate classes for children are also offered.

Family Law Hotline

The Family Law Center
Phone: 800-845-8550

This hotline provides individuals with information on how to obtain a separation, child custody, and child support and ways to escape domestic violence. The hotline operates Tuesdays, 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Lawyer Referral Service

Baltimore County Bar Association
Phone: 410-337-9100

This service will refer you to an experienced attorney. Participating attorneys charge a fee of $35 for a one-half hour consultation. The purpose of the consultation is to determine if further legal assistance in needed. Subsequent fees are set by the attorney.

Legal Aid Bureau

Baltimore County Office
Phone: 410-296-6705

A Pro Se Divorce Class held monthly for those who have been separated for at least two years and have no child support, property or alimony issues.

Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service, Inc.

Phone: 410-547-6537

This service refers low and moderate income individuals to attorneys on a pro bono or no cost basis.

Peoples' Law Library of Maryland

Peoples' Law

This free Internet site contains information and forms on Maryland Family Law. Public Internet terminals are available at all Baltimore County Public Library locations.

Protection Order Advocacy and Representation Project ("POARP")

County Courts Building, 401 Bosley Avenue, First Floor
Phone: 410-887-3162

The staff lawyers in this office provide free legal advice to any victim of domestic violence. They will discuss legal options, provide assistance in applying for an Ex Parte Order or Protection Order, help create a safety plan for victims and their children and legally represent parties in Ex Parte or Protection Order proceedings.

Self-Help Office

Courts Building
401 Bosley Avenue, Second Floor, Law Library
Towson, Maryland 21204
Phone: 410-887-3446

Please visit the Self-Help webpage for more information.

Reduced Fee Program

Baltimore County Bar Association
Phone: 410-337-9100

This program refers low and moderate income individuals to attorneys. There is no charge for the initial 30-minutes consultation. There is a maximum retainer of $1,000 at a time which is billable at $100 per hour.

Domestic Violence

24-Hour Hotline at 410-828-6390 

Ex Parte or Protective Orders—Go to the Clerk's Office in the Court nearest your home to fill out the papers Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Court Locations

Catonsville District Court
900 Walker Avenue
Phone: 410-455-5066

Essex District Court
8914 Kelso Drive
Phone: 410-780-4869

Towson District Court
120 East Chesapeake Avenue
Phone: 410-512-2000

Towson Circuit Court
401 Bosley Avenue
Phone: 410-887-3414

Other Domestic Violence Resources

The following services provide or give referrals for counseling, emergency and transitional shelter, and legal representation for those seeking relief from domestic violence.

Family Crisis Center of Baltimore County
Counseling Phone: 410-285-4357
Shelter Phone: 410-285-7496

Family Violence Unit
6401 York Road, 21212
Ex Parte Advocate Phone: 410-853-3030
24-Hour Hotline at 410-828-6390

House of Ruth
2201 Argonne Drive, Baltimore, Maryland 21218
Hotline Phone: 410-889-7884
Administration, Phone: 410-889-0840
Domestic Violence Legal Clinic, Phone: 410-554-8463

Sexual Assault-Domestic Violence Center
6229 North Charles Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21212
Administration, Phone: 410-377-8111
Hotline Phone: 410-828-6390

Revised April 18, 2022         


A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*