Skip Navigation

Public Information Act Requests

The Maryland Public Information Act (MPIA) ensures that citizens have access to information about the affairs of government and the official acts of public officials and employees. The MPIA provides that a “custodian” of a record shall allow a person to inspect any public record at any reasonable time. The law provides for a number of exceptions (reasons why the custodian must or may deny a public record), contains provisions for fees that may be charged to a person requesting a public record and states the time within which the custodian must provide the public records.

In accordance with the law, Baltimore County has also adopted PIA regulations (PDF).

PIA Contacts

In order to inspect a public record, you must submit a written application to the custodian of the public record. Following are the custodians of public records for agencies of the Baltimore County General Government and selected associated agencies.

AgencyContact Information

911 Communications Center

Marie Whisonant, Chief

County Courts Building
401 Bosley Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-307-2000
Email: mwhisonant@baltimorecountymd.gov

Aging

Laura Riley, Deputy Director

611 Central Avenue, Room 303
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-2109
Email: lriley@baltimorecountymd.gov

Budget and Finance

Keith Dorsey, Director

Historic Courthouse
400 Washington Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3313
Email: kdorsey@baltimorecountymd.gov

Corrections

Randy Mentzell, Records Manager

Baltimore County Detention Center
720 Bosley Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-512-3423
Email: rmentzell@baltimorecountymd.gov

County Executive and Administration

Michael Field, County Attorney

Historic Courthouse
400 Washington Avenue, Suite 219
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-4420
Email: mefield@baltimorecountymd.gov

Economic and Workforce Development

Neil Lyles, Manager of Administration

Historic Courthouse
400 Washington Avenue, Suite 100
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-8004
Email: nlyles@baltimorecountymd.gov

Elections

Katie A. Brown, Director

11112 Gilroy Road, Suite 104
Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031

Phone: 410-887-0902
Email: kabrown@baltimorecountymd.gov

Environmental Protection and Sustainability

David V. Lykens, Deputy Director

County Office Building
111 West Chesapeake Avenue, Suite 319
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-8028
Email: dlykens@baltimorecountymd.gov

Fire

John J. Hohman, Fire Chief

Public Safety Building
700 Joppa Road, Suite 401
Towson, Maryland 21286

Phone: 410-887-2071
Email: fire-records@baltimorecountymd.gov

Health and Human Services

Monique L. Lyle, Public Information Officer

Drumcastle Government Center
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212

Phone: 410-887-6092
Email: mlyle@baltimorecountymd.gov

Human Resources

Suzanne Berger, Deputy Director

308 Allegheny Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3122
Email: sberger@baltimorecountymd.gov

Information Technology

Robert Stradling, Director

Historic Courthouse
400 Washington Avenue, Room 33
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-2441
Email: oitpiareq@baltimorecountymd.gov

Law

Michael Field, County Attorney

Historic Courthouse
400 Washington Avenue, Room 219
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-4420
Email: mefield@baltimorecountymd.gov

People's Counsel

Peter Max Zimmerman, People's Counsel

Jefferson Building
105 West Chesapeake Avenue, Suite 204
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-2188
Email: peoplescounsel@baltimorecountymd.gov

Permits, Approvals and Inspections

Arnold Jablon, Director

County Office Building
111 West Chesapeake Avenue, Suite 105
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3353
Email: ajablon@baltimorecountymd.gov

Planning

Jeff Mayhew, Deputy Director

Jefferson Building
105 West Chesapeake Avenue, Suite 101
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3211
Email: jmayhew@baltimorecountymd.gov

Police – Media Inquiries

Miriam Levy

Public Safety Building
700 Joppa Road
Towson, Maryland 21286

Phone: 410-887-2210
Email: policepia@baltimorecountymd.gov

Police – Non-Media Inquiries

Evelyn Lipscomb

Public Safety Building
700 Joppa Road
Towson, Maryland 21286

Phone: 410-887-2211
Email: elipscomb@baltimorecountymd.gov

Public Library

James C. Cooke, Assistant Director, Support Services

320 York Road
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-6122
Email: adcooke@bcpl.info

Public Works

Steven A. Walsh, Director

County Office Building
111 West Chesapeake Avenue, Suite 307
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3300
Email: swalsh@baltimorecountymd.gov

Recreation and Parks

Michael Schneider, Community Outreach Liaison

9831 Van Buren Lane
Cockeysville, Maryland 21030

Phone: 410-887-5889
Email: mschneider@baltimorecountymd.gov

Revenue Authority

Ken Mills, Executive Director

115 Towsontown Boulevard
Towson, Maryland 21286

Phone: 410-887-3127
Email: kmills@bcramd.com

Sheriff

Robert Haukdal, Undersheriff

County Courts Building
401 Bosley Avenue, Ground Floor
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-3151 
Email: rhaukdal@baltimorecountymd.gov

State's Attorney

John Cox, Deputy State's Attorney

County Courts Building
401 Bosley Avenue, Room 511
Towson, Maryland 21204

Phone: 410-887-6660
Email: jcox@baltimorecountymd.gov

 
Revised February 21, 2017         

 

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*