Skip Navigation

Loch Raven Fishing Center

Manager: Kevin McComas
Assistant Manager: Gage Harms

12101 Dulaney Valley Road
Phoenix, Maryland 21131
Get Directions

Phone: 410-887-7692 TDD and Deaf: 410-887-5319
Email: lrfish-rp@baltimorecountymd.gov

Launching and Docking Permits

All 2022 permits will be issued by mail including for those patrons who held a seasonal permit in the past. Permits will be sold on a first come, first serve basis.
Docking and Launching permits for kayaks and canoes are sold out at this time. 

Instructions for Obtaining a Permit

  • Complete one of the following per the instructions on the first page of the document:
  • The cost for a Launching Permit is $65, and if you would like to store your vessel at the center the Docking and Launching Permit is $125.
  • Incomplete applications will be returned.
  • All vessels including kayaks must be at least 12 feet long.
  • Once we receive the completed application and fee we will mail your 2022 permit in the self-addressed stamped envelope you provide.
  • Walk-ins not accepted.

Seasons and Hours

Season

Hours

April 2 through Labor Day

Open daily at 6 a.m.
Closing time posted daily at the Center.

Labor Day through last Sunday in October

Open Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday
7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Closed on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday

After seasonal close through April 1

Closed

About

View a map (PDF) of the Loch Raven Fishing Center, located on the shores of 2,400-acre Loch Raven Reservoir and offering an assortment of services and goods for anglers, canoeists and boating enthusiasts, including:

  • Boat rentals
  • Fishing tackle and live bait for a variety of fish, including large and small mouth bass, yellow perch and northern pike
  • Snacks and sundries

Rules and Regulations

View a complete list of boating rules and regulations:

  • Fishing licenses are no longer sold at the center, however, you still need a Maryland Non-Tidal Fishing License if you are over 16 years of age. 
  • Seasonal permits only apply to privately-owned vessels.
  • A United States Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (provided) must be in the boat for each passenger.
  • No vessels are allowed below the Number One Bridge on Loch Raven Drive or above the Paper Mill Bridge at the north end of the reservoir. Any violation of these boundaries will result in loss of your seasonal permit and boating privilege.
  • Occupant capacity for a rental boat is three passengers regardless of age or size.
  • All boats and kayaks must be checked-in by posted time. Failure to return by the posted time will result in a $10 fine.
  • Swimming is not permitted in the reservoir.
  • Alcoholic beverages are prohibited on watershed property.

Please note that in an effort to provide ready boating access to Loch Raven Reservoir, we must limit the parking and activities at the fishing center to that of its patrons. Therefore no picnicking, shoreline fishing or other "non-fishing center" related activities are permitted on the shore. Those wishing to pursue other recreational activities in and around the reservoir property are encouraged to park on Loch Raven Drive near Morgan Mill and Providence Roads for dawn to dusk parking being sure to adhere to all posted parking regulations.

Learn more about recreational activities in other areas of the reservoir property.

 
Revised January 20, 2022         

 

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*