Skip Navigation

In-Service Training Guidelines

Baltimore County Police Department Training Section

The In-Service Training program will address various topics as required by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions (MPCTC), the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, the Maryland Occupational Safety and Health Commission and the Baltimore County Police Department.

Computer-Based Learning Program

The In-Service Training program uses a computer-based learning program approved by MPCTC. Access to the computer-based learning program is available on the Baltimore County Police Department Intranet site under the Training tab.

Sworn personnel required to attend In-Service Training will be required to read or review the material prior to attending their scheduled In-Service Training. Access to the Training tab should be available from precinct-office computers, as well as from the laptops in patrol cars.

We will continue to use a registration system for scheduling attendance at Specialized Training Programs and the In-Service Training Program; this helps prevent too many or two few in a classroom. We believe that controlling the class size leads to a more comfortable classroom and a better learning environment.

The In-Service Training Team needs your help in making our training program a success. The following guidelines have been established to provide a quality training atmosphere.


In-Service Training starts at 0700 hours and ends at 1500 hours.

  • Attendance is mandatory; therefore, a daily sign-in is necessary to ensure compliance.
  • Lateness will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis and may result in your being denied admittance to class. You will be required to reschedule your attendance.
  • Canceling your In-Service class should be avoided except in cases of emergency.
    • You are required to notify both the In-Service Training Team and your duty assignment of your absence.
    • It will be your responsibility, through your supervisor and Training Section Coordinator, to reschedule.
    • If you miss part of the program, it is your responsibility to make it up.
    • Upon returning, you must notify the In-Service Training Team.
  • All sworn personnel attending In-Service Training or Specialized classes must be full duty.
  • Failure to complete In-Service Training will result in a suspension of police powers at the end of the calendar year. 


The Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC) Dundalk Campus is tobacco free. There is no smoking in or around the buildings on campus. You may smoke on the outer road that surrounds the campus. 

Cellular Phones  

If cell phones can't be turned off or put on silent mode while in the classroom, they should be left at home or in your vehicle. Sending or receiving text messages during instruction will not be tolerated and could result in administrative action or the removal from the training program.


A lunch break of 30 minutes is provided.

  • Consider packing or bringing a lunch.
  • The CCBC Dundalk Campus cafeteria will also be available.
  • Members attending In-Service and Specialized Training at the Academy should plan accordingly.


During breaks, please use the classroom, common areas away from other classrooms and areas outside the building. Please do not disturb other classes.


All parking spaces designated by white lines are available for parking.

  • Parking permits will not be issued or required for students, visitors or guests who visit the college for a business purpose such as attending class, registering for classes or attending an event.
  • Reserved spaces are in effect 24 hours a day, every day of the week.
    • Red spaces: Full-time faculty and staff
    • Blue spaces: Handicapped-tagged or placarded vehicles
    • Green spaces: Service vehicles.

Phone Calls     

Telephones are available in the upstairs classrooms for departmental use. Use will be restricted to breaks and lunch only. Contact a staff member before making long distance calls, which are not allowed unless duty related.


If special clothing is required for any training exercise, members involved will be advised prior to the class so that arrangements can be made.

  • Sworn members attending the Firearms Range, including those not required to wear a uniform on a daily basis, will wear the Class B Uniform. The only exception is for members currently assigned to Narcotics, Intelligence, CDVIT and IST.
  • If you are attending training at the academy, you must be either dressed professional casual or in Class B Uniform. Professional casual does not include:
    • Shorts
    • Jeans
    • Tank tops
    • Sandals
    • T-shirts
    • Sweatshirts
  • While attending any training at the Training Section (whether in uniform or professional casual clothing) the Department's tattoo policy is in effect (Refer to the Administrative Manual, Article 1, Appearance and Grooming Standards).


Supervisors should determine personnel needs and schedule personnel accordingly. Submit a list of officers’ scheduled dates to your Section Training Coordinator. Problems or conflicts with the schedule will be addressed with your Section Training Coordinator.


Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions (MPCTC) regulations mandate that all approved courses include a test. Programs that test by demonstration or performance, such as practical exercises, will be graded on a pass or fail basis.

Revised September 22, 2020         


A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

@BaltCoPolice Twitter

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*