Skip Navigation

Safe Speed Automated Enforcement Program

Baltimore County uses speed cameras to encourage motorists to slow down in school zones where traffic data and citizen complaints show that speeding is a problem.

The use of speed cameras in Maryland—called the Safe Speed Automated Enforcement Program—was authorized by the Maryland General Assembly under Maryland Transportation Article 21-809. The Baltimore County Council passed legislation, Baltimore County-Bill 61-09, in 2009 authorizing the use of 15 speed cameras in school zones. In 2011, the Baltimore County Council amended this legislation, Bill 1-11, to allow additional cameras.

The Baltimore County Police Department (BCoPD) supports speed cameras because they enhance public safety. Every day, citizens demand safe streets in Baltimore County, especially for the benefit of children. Speed cameras are an effective tool for slowing motorists.

Speed Camera Locations

Safe Speed logo.

Cameras may be added or moved at the discretion of the Police Chief based on a review of traffic data, citizen complaints and a location's accident history. All speed camera zones are marked with signage.

Speed cameras are installed or in the process of being installed at the following schools:

Hours of Operation

In compliance with state law, Baltimore County's speed cameras operate Monday through Friday between the hours of 6 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Speed cameras remain in use during these hours throughout the summer months and on other weekdays when school is not in session. The need for motorists to drive carefully in school zones exists even when schools are not in session because school sites are used for summer school, recreation and parks activities, summer athletics and other child-oriented activities.

Warnings and Citations

During the first 30 days after a camera is activated, motorists exceeding the speed limit by at least 12 miles per hour (mph) will receive warnings rather than citations.

After a speed camera has been in place for 30 days, citations will be issued to motorists traveling at least 12 mph over the speed limit.

Tickets generated by speed camera violations carry a $40 fine; no license points are assigned because these are civil violations. Vehicle insurance providers are not notified of speed camera citations. You may pay online, in person or by mail; the options are included on the violation notice.

Pay Your Citation

 

Appeal a Fine

Vehicle owners may contest speed camera fines in Maryland District Court. Details about how to appeal are included on each violation notice. If you wish to contest a citation because you were not driving the vehicle when the violation occurred, you must provide a signed affidavit stating that you were not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation and provide corroborating evidence, such as the name, address and, if possible, the driver's license identification number of the person who was driving. This must be done within 30 days of the mail date of the citation.

Failure to respond to the ticket can result in additional fees and penalties. Maryland law requires that revenue from speed camera fines be used for public safety programs.

Explore Traffic Cameras and Citations

 

Contact Us

Police Headquarters

Public Safety Building
700 East Joppa Road
Towson, Maryland 21286

Hours

Monday through Friday
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Phone

Emergencies:
911

General Police Information:
410-887-2214

Non-Emergencies:
410-887-2222

Fax

410-821-8887

BALTCOGO311

Chief of Police

Melissa R. Hyatt

 
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.