Skip Navigation

Francis Scott Key Bridge Incident Updates 
County offices are closed on Monday, May 27, for Memorial Day.

Community Planning

The Community Planning Division is responsible for the development and implementation of:

  • Comprehensive Community Plans and Studies—Which outline the vision and goals of the community, and cover various aspects such as land use, transportation, housing, economic development, and environmental sustainability. Learn more about current initiatives and past projects.
  • Policies, Programs and Incentives—Which support equitable, diverse, and vibrant communities, while considering the needs and aspirations of its residents. Learn more about commercial revitalization programs currently available.
  • Zoning and Land Use Regulations—Reviewing development proposals for compliance with zoning and land use regulations and ensuring proposed projects align with community plans, Master Plan, regulations and design standards.
  • Community Engagement and Public Participation—Designing inclusive engagement processes that seek the input and participation of diverse community members, to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to participate and make their voices heard.
  • Coordination and Collaboration with the Community— Building strong relationships is essential for effective engagement. The division ensures that effective communication is maintained between community leaders and organizations, as well as various agencies and elected officials.

Contact Your Community Planner

The Community Planning Division is organized into three geographic sectors (Northern, Eastern, Western). Use the Community Planner Lookup app to identify your area Planner. To learn more about your sector or current initiatives happening within your community, contact the planner listed below.


Current Initiatives

A number of community planning initiatives are currently underway. Your engagement is needed for these studies.

Past Projects

Learn more about the past projects completed by the Community Planning Division.

Other Programs

Learn more about the State’s Main Street Maryland program and the Maryland Sustainable Communities program.

Explore Community Planning

Contact Us

Community Planning

The Jefferson Building, Suite 101
105 West Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204




Division Chief

Ngone Seye Diop


Follow Us