Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Coronavirus Updates and Guidance

The County is taking a number of actions to keep residents safe and minimize the spread of COVID-19. Find status information for County operations and services.

Requesting Fire Department Records

The Baltimore County Fire Department Records Section is located at 700 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland 21286. Contact the Records Section at 410-887-2071 or fire-records@baltimorecountymd.gov.

The Records Section is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Maryland law requires that we respond to your request within 20 working days.

Public Records

The Fire Department is the custodian of the public records listed below.

  • Fire incident reports
    Complete our Fire Incident Report Request Form and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail. A $15 fee per record, payable by check or money order, is required at the time of the request. Walk-in requests are not accepted.

  • Hazardous materials incident reports
    Email fire-records@baltimorecountymd.gov to request a report.

  • Annual fire safety inspection reports for all business properties within Baltimore County
    Email fire-records@baltimorecountymd.gov to request a report.

Public documents regarding storage of various federally mandated chemicals and hazardous materials are maintained by the Maryland Department of the Environment.

Non-Public Records—EMS and Patient Care Reports

A patient care report is generated whenever the Fire Department assists a sick or injured person. These reports contain confidential medical information and are not part of the public record. Copies of patient care records are available to our patients, their representatives and others as specified by the the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 and Maryland Public Health - General, Title 4. Statistics And Records, Subtitle 3. "Confidentiality Of Medical Records."

The Fire Department's policies and procedures for the release of patient care reports comply with restrictions specified under federal and state law. 

 A $15 fee per record, payable by check or money order, is required at the time of the request. Walk-in requests are not accepted. All required documents must be provided.

Instructions for Patients and Legally Authorized Representatives

To obtain a patient care report, please select one of the following:

  • I am the patient seeking my own report.
    Complete this Patient Care Report Request Form (PDF) and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail. 

  • I am the parent of a minor patient.
    Complete this Patient Care Report Request Form (PDF) and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail.

  • I am a court-appointed guardian, custodian or representative of a minor patient.
    Complete this Patient Care Report Request Form (PDF) and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail.

  • I am the appointed personal representative of a deceased patient.
    Complete this Patient Care Report Request Form (PDF) and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail.

  • I am a person authorized to consent to health care (medical power of attorney).
    Complete this Patient Care Report Request Form (PDF) and follow the instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail.

Instructions for Attorneys

The release of medical records records to an attorney must be authorized by the patient or a legally authorized representative.

Complete the Authorization to Release Protected Health Information (PDF) and follow the instructions, including instructions for returning it by mail.  

Ambulance Billing

Baltimore County bills private insurers, Medicaid and Medicare for ambulance transport costs. County residents are not personally responsible for these costs and should not receive a bill.

For billing questions, call the customer service department of our billing contractor, Change Healthcare, a national management company, at 1-866-366-3626.

Attorneys only may email requests for bills to emsattorneyrequests@changehealthcare.com, or fax requests to 1-937-291-0236.

 
Revised August 28, 2020         

 

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.

@BaltCoFire Twitter

 
Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*