Skip Navigation

Fire-Rescue Academy

The Fire-Rescue Academy (FRA) ensures the readiness of all Baltimore County first responders. Technical and customized training is provided for all career and volunteer firefighters and emergency medical personnel.

Training Opportunities for Personnel

FRA offers a number of training opportunities.  

New or Replacement Personnel Accountability Tags

Volunteer members needing new accountability tags should have an officer from their station submit an ePAT application.

Career members needing replacement accountability tags must:

  1. Submit Form 58 to their Direct Supervisor that includes name, rank, LOSAP Number and the number of tags needed.
  2. The supervisor must approve Form 58 and email it to fireacademy@baltimorecountymd.gov. When submitting, indicate if the tags will be picked at the Fire-Rescue Academy or sent via interoffice mail.

Working With People With Disabilities

Watch the "Working With People With Disabilities: A Guide for Responders" video, which provides training for Emergency Medical Services, Fire and law enforcement personnel on how to work effectively and compassionately when responding to emergency incidents involving persons with disabilities. The video was produced in cooperation with the Commission on Disabilities and includes first-person accounts from people with a variety of disabilities. 

Staff

Contact the FRA staff via email.

Designation and RoleContact
Academy 1
Bureau Chief
Lonnie D. Ledford, MS EFO NRP
lledford@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 2
Fire/Rescue Training Administrator
Chris Davis, Fire Captain
cjdavis@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 3
EMS Training Administrator
Angela Taury, EMS Captain
ataury@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 4
EMS Training Administrator
Melissa Simpkins, EMS Lieutenant
msimpkins@baltimorecountymd.gov
Safety 4
Fire Programs
Richard White, Fire Specialist
wwhite@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 6
Battalion Training Administrator
Brian Ellis, Fire Apparatus Driver/Operator
bkellis@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 8
Fire and Rescue Instructor
Steven Hinch
shinch@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 9
Fire Instructor
Joseph Wiggins, Fire Apparatus Driver/Operator
jawiggins@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 10
EMS Instructor
Rachelle Alexander, EMT
ralexander@baltimorecountymd.gov
Academy 11
EMS Instructor
Jaimie Philpott, Paramedic
jphilpott@baltimorecountymd.gov
Office 1
Office Staff
Debbie Blades, Office Coordinator
dblades@baltimorecountymd.gov
Office 2
Office Staff
M. Katherine Liddick, Office Coordinator
mliddick@baltimorecountymd.gov

Explore Fire-Rescue Academy

 

Contact

Fire-Rescue Academy

1545 Sparrows Point Boulevard
Sparrows Point, Maryland 21219

Hours

Monday through Friday
7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Bureau Chief

Lonnie Ledford

 
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.