Skip Navigation

Obtain Marriage or Divorce Records

Marriage and divorce records are available from the Clerk of the Court for Baltimore County via the options listed in the table below, or via mail to:

Clerk's Office
P.O. Box 6754
Towson, Maryland 21285-6754

Cost and Contact Information

Payment is accepted via cash, check or money order (made payable to Clerk of the Court) VISA, MasterCard or Discover credit card. No debit cards are accepted.

Documentation or ServiceFeeContact Information
Marriage Licenses$35 time of issuePhone: 410-887-2607 
Email: ccbaltcoclerklicensing@mdcourts.gov
Civil Marriage Ceremonies$25 at check inPhone: 410-887-2607 
Email: ccbaltcoclerkmarriages@mdcourts.gov
Marriage Certificates

$5.50

Phone: 410-887-2607 
Email: ccbaltcoclerklicensing@mdcourts.gov

For certified copies:
Email: ccbaltcoclerkmarriages@mdcourts.gov
Request a certified copy online.

For marriages prior to January 1, 1990: 
Request a copy online.

Divorce Decrees/Annulments

Verification: No fee

Copies: $0.50/page

Certification: $5

Phone: 410-887-3494
Email: ccbaltcoclerkrecords@mdcourts.gov.
Request a certified copy online.

Marriage Licenses

The license is valid for ceremonies taking place within Baltimore County after a 48-hour waiting period but will expire after six months.

Only one person needs to apply for the license. Bring the following information for both applicants:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Age
  • Social Security number
  • Place of birth
  • Marital status
  • $35 payment
  • If under the age of 18—Identification is required at 18 is the legal age one can be married without parental consent.
  • If divorced or widowed—Provide the exact date and name of the county and state in which the divorce or death occurred for both applicants. This applies for all divorces and deaths.

Change to Marriage License laws effective October 1

  • While only one party is required to apply for a marriage license, each party must provide a copy of an official government-issued birth certificate or other official government-issued document or record displaying their age.
  • Minors under the age of 17 are no longer permitted to get married.
  • A 17-year-old individual may not marry unless:
    • The individual has the consent of each living parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the minor person either in person or through an affidavit signed under the seal of a notary public; or
    • If the individual does not have the required consent, a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner that states the woman to be married has been examined by the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner and is found to be pregnant or has given birth to a child; and
    • The individual presents a certified copy of an order granting authorization to marry in accordance with the provisions of Title 5, Subtitle 2A of the Family Law Article not earlier than 15 days after the order was issued. To obtain an order granting authorization to marry, a minor who is 17 years old may file a petition in the Circuit Court in the County in which the minor resides, and an evidentiary hearing on the petition must be held to determine if an order of authorization to marry may be granted.

Read the Law: Maryland. Code, Family Law §5-2A-01, 5-2A-02, 5-2A-03, 5-2A-04

Civil Marriage Ceremonies

Civil Marriage Ceremonies are:

  • By appointment only with limited attendance allowed. 
  • Performed Monday through Friday from 9 to 11 a.m. and 2 to 3 p.m.
  • Scheduled for outdoors only

If the ceremony is occurring at the courthouse, once all guests have arrived, one member of the marrying couple shall report to the second floor Licensing Department to check in and make payment of $25.

Marriage Certificates

To request a marriage certificate by mail or email, please include:

  • Full maiden name (first, middle and last) of the persons married
  • Full name (first, middle and last) of the persons married 
  • Date of marriage (month, day and year)
  • $5.50 fee
  • Applicant’s mailing address

Divorce Decrees and Annulments

To request a divorce decree or annulment of marriage by mail or email, please include:

  • Case number, if available or
  • Full name (first, middle, last) of both parties
  • Whether you want divorce decree or annulment of marriage
  • Check or money order for $.50 per page made out to Clerk of the Court (cash, check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, or Discover credit card are accepted).
  • Additional $5 if requesting a certified copy
  • Applicant's mailing address

Verification of divorce or annulment is also available from the Maryland Vital Statistics Administration from January 1, 1992 to the present for $12. The division can verify the names of the persons divorced, the type of divorce action, the county in which the divorce took place and the date of the decree. It cannot provide the official divorce decree or annulment of marriage. Verification of divorce is accepted by certain agencies seeking proof of divorce or annulment.

Contact Us

Clerk's Office

Baltimore County Courts Building
Second Floor
401 Bosley Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Hours

Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Phone

Clerk of the Court

 
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.