November 16, 2022 Baltimore County

Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski today announced plans to retain a significant number of current County officials as members of his second-term leadership team. Olszewski plans to re-nominate the following individuals to continue serving as County department and office heads, subject to confirmation by an affirmative vote of a majority of the members of the County Council:

  • Stacy L. Rodgers, County Administrative Officer
  • Dr. Gregory Wm. Branch, Director and Health Officer, Department of Health Department of Social Services
  • James Benjamin, County Attorney
  • Rhoda Benjamin, Director, Office of Human Resources
  • Pete Gutwald, Director, Department of Permits, Approvals and Inspections
  • Terry Hickey, Director, Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Leonard J. Howie, Director, Department of Economic and Workforce Development
  • Steve Lafferty, Director, Department of Planning
  • David Lykens, Director, Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability
  • Laura D. Riley, Director, Department of Aging
  • Joanne Rund, Chief, Fire Department
  • D'Andrea L. Walker, Director, Department of Public Works and Transportation

“These dedicated officials have been a critical part of our ongoing efforts to serve County residents and build a better Baltimore County over the past four years. I’m thankful for their continued willingness to serve and look forward to all we will to achieve together in the years ahead,” Olszewski said. “As we prepare for a second term in office, I could not be more excited about doubling-down on our work to make Baltimore County even more innovative, transparent and responsive to the people we serve.”

Additionally, the following County department and office heads today announced plans to depart County service following the end of Olszewski’s first term:

  • Edward P. Blades, Director Office of Budget and Finance
  • Melissa Hyatt, Chief, Baltimore County Police Department
  • Roslyn Johnson, Director, Department of Recreation and Parks
  • Robert W. O'Connor, Director, Office of Information Technology
  • Gail M. Watts, Director, Department of Corrections

“On behalf of all the residents of Baltimore County, I thank these public servants for all their incredible work and dedication to strengthening our communities,” Olszewski said. “Our county is better and stronger because of their service, and I wish them all the very best in each of their next steps.”

Olszewski expects to name candidates to fill these positions in the coming weeks.

Police Chief Transition

Baltimore County will conduct a national search for Chief Hyatt’s successor.

“Chief Hyatt is a world-class public safety professional who has led efforts to modernize the Baltimore County Police Department, helping us to enact critical reforms to strengthen the agency,” said Olszewski. “We are grateful for her tireless commitment to the people of Baltimore County and remain thankful for her service as we begin the process of identifying a successor who will help ensure Baltimore County remains a safe place to live, work and raise a family."