Skip Navigation

New Americans Task Force

The New Americans Task Force was established to develop a New American integration and inclusion plan that addresses the social and economic challenges in Baltimore County's New American community. The Task Force will:

  • Participate in monthly meetings
  • Assist in a community needs assessment
  • Organize and facilitate a New American focus group in each councilmanic district
  • Identify and analyze barriers facing immigrants and their efforts to access the following, and make recommendations to address those barriers:
    • Business resources
    • Education
    • Health care
    • Recreation
    • Public assistance
    • Workforce development
    • Other critical services and aspects of community life
  • Issue a final report to the County Executive and County Council no later than March 31, 2024



The Task Force will meet monthly, with no fewer than six meetings through December. To view upcoming meeting details and documents, select from the list below.

No events to display


The Task Force consists of the following members:

  • Maricruz Abarca—Latino Providers Network
  • Richard Amador—Healthcare Access Maryland
  • Laura Brown—Asylee Women Enterprise
  • Alejandra Balcazar—Towson University
  • Susana Barrios—Latino Racial Justice Circle
  • Matthew Bernardy—Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC)
  • Ramona Carter-Brown—Baltimore County Human Relations
  • Zainab Chaundry—Council on American-Islamic Relations
  • Truphena M. Choti—AfriThrive
  • Mary Clay—Baltimore County Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Mahro Ershadi—Chase Brexton
  • Alejandra Flores Miller—Centro Sol—JHU School of Medicine
  • Nidia Gentry—Baltimore County Department of Health (BCDH)
  • Tasha Gresham James—Dundalk Renaissance
  • Jennifer Hernandez—Baltimore County Public Schools (BCPS)
  • Annette Karanja—Haki Zetu
  • Cindy Kolade—CASA
  • Rachele J. Lawton—CCBC
  • Della Leister—BCDH
  • Bishop Bruce Lewandowski—Archdiocese of Baltimore
  • Major Orlando Lilly—Baltimore County Police Department
  • John Mason—Baltimore County Department of Economic Development
  • Cassandra Miller—Baltimore County Public Library
  • Bella Owens—TurnAround, Inc.
  • Laure Pepper Covert—World Relief
  • Mitch Posner—Community Assistance Network
  • Javier Rivas—Latino Economic Development Center
  • Valerie Rivera-Esperanza —Esperanza Center
  • Catalina Rodriguez-Lima—Baltimore Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs
  • Nan Ross—International Rescue Committee
  • Alfredo Santiago—Peace and Strength Counseling
  • Cate H. Scenna, Esq.—Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland
  • Helany Sinkler—T. Rowe Price (Chair)
  • Tim Suryodaya Timsina—BANA
  • Betty Symington—ERICA
  • Kevin Meadowcroft—Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service

Contact Information

For questions or more information about the New Americans Task Force, email

Contact Us

Office of the County Executive

400 Washington Avenue
Mezzanine Level
Towson, Maryland 21204


Monday through Friday
9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.




County Executive

John A. Olszewski, Jr.