Skip Navigation

The County is taking a number of actions to keep residents safe and minimize the spread of COVID-19. Find status information.

Criminal Justice Coordinating Council

The following duties are the responsibility of the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (CJCC):

  • Study the Baltimore County juvenile and criminal justice systems, identify deficiencies, and formulate policy, plans and programs for improvement
  • Communicate and present planning, financial, operational, managerial and programmatic recommendations to the agencies represented on the Council
  • Provide the coordinated leadership necessary to establish cohesive criminal justice strategies, policies and programs
  • Collaborate to maximize resources and raise funds to support criminal justice programs


The CJCC meets on a bi­monthly basis, generally on the second Tuesday of the month, from 8 to 9 a.m. in Room 118, First Floor of the Historic Courthouse, 400 Washington Avenue, Towson, Maryland. View the CJCC meetings and minutes below, PDFs will open in a new window.


DateTimeLocationMeeting Documents
February 128 to 9 a.m.Historic CourthouseMeeting was canceled.
April 98 to 9 a.m.Historic Courthouse
June 118 to 9 a.m.Historic CourthouseWill be posted when available.
August 138 to 9 a.m.Historic CourthouseMeeting was canceled.
October 88 to 9 a.m.Historic CourthouseWill be posted when available.
December 108 to 9 a.m.Historic CourthouseWill be posted when available.


The CJCC is comprised of the following voting members who serve by virtue of the positions they hold, plus one voting member, appointed by the County Executive, who is an attorney practicing criminal defense law in Baltimore County.

Chief Melissa R. Hyatt, Co-Chair
Phone: 410-887-2200
Baltimore County Police Department
Director Gail Watts, Co-Chair
Phone: 410-512-3400
Director, Department of Corrections
The Honorable Kathleen Gallogly CoxChief Administrative Judge, Circuit Court for Baltimore County
 The Honorable Dorothy J. WilsonChief Administrative Judge, District Court for Baltimore County 
Sheriff R. Jay FisherBaltimore County Sheriff
The Honorable Scott D. ShellenbergerState's Attorney for Baltimore County
Mr. Timothy SheridanCourt Administrator, Circuit Court for Baltimore County
Ms. Maria FieldsAdministrative Clerk, District Court for Baltimore County
The Honorable Donald ZarembaPublic Defender for Baltimore County
Dr. Gregory Branch, Health OfficerDepartment of Health and Human Services
Dr. Darryl L. Williams, SuperintendentBaltimore County Public Schools
Mr. Don Schlimm, DirectorLocal Management Board 
Ms. Stephanie HouseActing Chief, Bureau of Behavioral Health
Mr. Matthew FonsecaRegional Director, Maryland Department of Juvenile Services 
Mr. Walter NolleyCommunity Supervision Director, Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
Mr. David B. Irwin
Irwin Green Dexter and Murtha, LLP, Towson, Maryland
County Executive Appointment
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.