Skip Navigation

Affordable Housing Work Group

Baltimore County and the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity entered into a Conciliation Agreement and Voluntary Compliance Agreement (VCA) in 2016. Under the VCA, the County is committed to supporting and incentivizing the creation of 1,000 affordable rental housing “hard units”—defined as “affordable rental housing resulting from new construction, substantial rehabilitation, acquisition, or existing housing stock"—by 2027. To date, the County has met over 50 percent of this goal, with 506 approved affordable hard units created.

To help ensure the County continues to work toward the goal in the coming years, the Affordable Housing Work Group will review progress to date, examine ongoing challenges, and develop actionable recommendations to further support and incentivize the creation of affordable housing units. The Work Group will issue its recommendations in a final report to the County Executive no later than December 2021.


The Work Group is expected to meet monthly for approximately six months, but may meet more or less depending on need and consensus of the workgroup membership, and may form a subcommittee to examine particular issues in more detail. View upcoming meeting details and documents below.


No events to display


The Work Group will convene a diverse group of County employees, industry representatives, local stakeholders and community leaders:

  • James R. Benjamin, Jr.—Baltimore County Attorney
  • Dr. Karen Bethea—Set the Captives Free Church
  • Kara Beverly—Towson Resident and Community Leader
  • Ryan Coleman—Randallstown NAACP
  • Greg Countess—Maryland Legal Aid
  • Leslie Dickinson—Disability Rights Maryland
  • Felipe Filomeno - Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Maryland Baltimore County and Co-Chair of the Latino Racial Justice Circle
  • Jim French—The French Companies
  • Melissa Gambuto - Representative, Maryland Multi-Housing Association
  • David Gildea—Smith, Gildea and Schmidt
  • Bryen Glass—Lochearn Improvement Association
  • C. Pete Gutwald—Director, Department of Permits and Inspections
  • Terry Hickey—Deputy Director, Housing and Community Development
  • Ned Howe—Enterprise Community Development
  • Derick Johnson—At-Large Planning Board Member
  • Steve Lafferty—Director, Department of Planning
  • Dan McCarthy—Episcopal Housing
  • Marsha McLaughlin—Community Planning Expert
  • Amy Menzer—Dundalk Renaissance
  • Christopher Mudd—Esquire, Venable LLP
  • Gloria Nelson—Turner Station Conservation Team
  • Marsha Parham-Green—Executive Director, Baltimore County Office of Housing
  • Izzy Patoka—Baltimore County Councilman, District 2
  • Klaus Philipsen—ArchPlan Inc.
  • Dan Pontious—Baltimore Metropolitan Council
  • Stacy L. Rodgers—County Administrative Officer
  • Tammy Rollins—Baltimore County Branch NAACP Housing Chairperson
  • Patrick Stewart—Pennrose Development
  • Drew Vetter—Deputy County Administrative Officer
  • Jayson Williams—Mayson-Dixon Companies
  • Justin Williams—Esquire, Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP

Contact Us

Office of the County Executive

400 Washington Avenue
Mezzanine Level
Towson, Maryland 21204


Monday through Friday
9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.




County Executive

John A. Olszewski, Jr.

A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.