Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Coronavirus Updates and Guidance

The County is taking a number of actions to keep residents safe and minimize the spread of COVID-19. Find status information for County operations and services.

Public Safety News

 

Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: precinct 12

Police are investigating a shooting outside of Vino Liquors & Bar in Dundalk early this morning.

Officers responded to a disturbance call in the 3800 block of North Point Road, 21222, just before 2 a.m. and discovered shell casings on the parking lot. Shortly thereafter the victim, an adult woman, walked into a hospital suffering from a gunshot wound to the upper body. She is expected to survive her injuries.

Detectives from the Baltimore County Police Violent Crimes Unit are investigating the circumstances surrounding the shooting and ask anyone who may have information to contact them by calling 410-307-2020. Callers may remain anonymous and may be eligible for a reward when submitting tips through Metro Crime Stoppers.

Reward Offered

Metro Crime Stoppers of Maryland, an organization that is separate from the Baltimore County Police Department and Baltimore County Government, offers rewards of up to $2000 for information that leads to the arrest and charges in connection with felony offenses.

Anonymous tips can be sent to Metro Crime Stoppers by phone, online or via mobile app.

Phone: 1-866-7LOCKUP

Web tip: www.metrocrimestoppers.org

Mobile App: P3TIPS

Baltimore County Police Violent Crimes Unit detectives are continuing their investigation into a shooting in the unit block of Waterview Road in the Dundalk Precinct last night.

Police responded to the shooting around 10:19 pm after a 29-year-man suffered a gunshot wound to the upper body. Medics responded and transported the man to an area hospital for treatment. He is expected to survive his wounds.

Police are asking anyone who may have witnessed the shooting or saw anything unusual around the time of the shooting to call 410-307-2020 with information. Callers may remain anonymous and may be eligible for a reward when submitting tips through Metro Crime Stoppers.

Baltimore County Police are reminding drivers to keep their vehicle doors locked and to never store their keys in the vehicle, including a spare key to another vehicle, while it's unattended. Doing so could lead to items being stolen from your vehicle or even your vehicle being stolen.

Don't provide an opportunity for a criminal. Many times all it takes is for a suspect to walk through a neighborhood and pull on your car handle to see if it's unlocked. If it is unlocked, your valuables are at risk to be stolen. A spare key stored in your vehicle could leave you with your car being stolen.

Leaving Your Car Running Unattended is Illegal

Leaving your car running with the keys in the ignition not only leaves your car at risk to be stolen, but it is also illegal.

Vehicles left running outside homes, in front of convenience stores and at gas pumps present an easy target for car thieves. Always take your keys with you and secure your vehicle, even for a short trip into the store.

Maryland Annotated Vehicle Code prohibits an operator of a vehicle to leave a vehicle running and unattended unless the operator:

  • is in charge of a motor vehicle that has had the engine started using a remote keyless ignition system and has been operating unattended for up to five consecutive minutes when the vehicle is not in motion; or
  • allows a motor vehicle that is locked and on private property, not open to the public, to operate unattended for up to five consecutive minutes when the vehicle is not in motion.

Penalties and Fines

Did you know that leaving a vehicle alone with the engine running is against the law? Officers can issue a ticket that is accompanied by a $70 fine and one point against your driving record. Unattended, running vehicles also pose a safety hazard. If the vehicle slips out of gear and causes an accident, you could be issued a ticket with a $110 fine and three points against your driving record.

Make sure your vehicle doors are locked at all times, spare keys are not left in the vehicle and the vehicle is not left running unattended.

 
 
Revised October 16, 2020               
A new website for Baltimore County

We're working to provide you with a better experience, and want your feedback. Learn more about our project and give your feedback.