Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Coronavirus Updates and Guidance

The County is taking a number of actions to keep residents safe and minimize the spread of COVID-19. Find status information for County operations and services.

Public Safety News


Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: fire-rescue academy

Graduation exercises for the 114th Recruit Class of the Baltimore County Fire-Rescue Academy were held on December 20, 2019 at Loch Raven High School.

The class comprises 30 graduates who are now assigned to fire stations throughout the county. Seven are Probationary Paramedics and 23 are Probationary Emergency Medical Technicians.

The recruits and their station assignments are as follows:


  • PM Christopher M. Broussard -- Franklin
  • PM Ashlee M. Draper -- Edgemere
  • PM Katherine E. Leal -- Randallstown
  • PM Tiffany M. Marchant -- Edgemere
  • PM Jerrett C. Ogle -- Edgemere
  • PM David A. Ruby -- Pikesville
  • PM Justin A. Rudisill -- Halethorpe

    Probationary EMT
  • PEMT Elizabeth M. Bauerlein
  • PEMT Michael W. Blake
  • PEMT Chelsea N. Brandenburg
  • PEMT Shy Lia S. Buie
  • PEMT Joshua P. Burkins
  • PEMT Amy N. Burley
  • PEMT Sara G. Carroll
  • PEMT Lindsay E. Edmunds
  • PEMT Markeisha J. Ford
  • PEMT Sierra D. Harper
  • PEMT Justin A. James
  • PEMT Keon A. Johnson
  • PEMT Emily R. Jones
  • PEMT Christopher D. Kelly
  • PEMT Andrea D. Lee
  • PEMT Austin J. Lowe
  • PEMT Kaylyn R. Lust
  • PEMT Laneisha U. Martin
  • PEMT Thomas K. Podles
  • PEMT Cassandra S. Reddy
  • PEMT Ian B. Sadon
  • PEMT Sade N. Sample
  • PEMT Matthew D. Taylor

Graduation exercises for the 113th Recruit Class of the Baltimore County Fire-Rescue Academy were held Thursday night at Loch Raven High School.

The class comprises 26 graduates who this weekend will begin working at fire stations throughout the county. Twenty-three are Probationary Firefighters, and three are Probationary Paramedics.

Recruit Austin Luera received the Academic Achievement Award, given to the recruit with the highest grade point average.

Recruit Nicole Carter received the Isaac Burke Award, given to a recruit who with little experience in the fire service who has overcome personal obstacles to succeed during his/her time at the Academy.

Recruit Christopher Books was the class speaker.

The recruits and their station assignments are as follows:


  • PM Matthew Coclough -- Texas 
  • PM Donald Hawkins -- Towson
  • PM Jason Jackman -- Garrison

Probationary Firefighter

  • PFF Bruce Adams Jr. -- Randallstown
  • PFF Alex Berkeridge -- Eastview
  • PFF Christopher Brooks -- Towson
  • PFF Rebecca Budnick -- Golden Ring
  • PFF Carlin Bullinger -- Golden Ring
  • PFF Morgan Callan -- Brooklandville
  • PFF Ivan Canizalez -- Fullerton
  • PFF Nicole Carter -- Halethorpe
  • PFF Haseeb Durrani -- Middle River
  • PFF Rachel Flint -- Essex
  • PFF Lucas Grutkowski -- Essex
  • PFF Jessica Heinzelman -- Golden Ring
  • PFF Troy Hooper Jr. -- Catonsville
  • PFF Christopher Lloyd -- Essex
  • PFF Austin Luera -- Brooklandville
  • PFF Katlyn Phelps -- Fullerton
  • PFF Lauren Pirchalski -- Woodlawn
  • PFF Danielle Sayler -- Perry Hall
  • PFF Steven Serraro -- Brooklandville
  • PFF Branden Smith -- Golden Ring
  • PFF Timothy Stem -- Fullerton
  • PFF Jhalen Thompson -- Texas
  • PFF D'Andre Wood -- Garrison

Twelve new firefighters have been assigned to fire stations throughout the County following graduation from BCoFD's Fire-Rescue Academy.

Graduation ceremonies for these Lateral Firefighter Candidates were held last night at Sparrows Point High School. Lateral candidates have prior experience as career firefighters with other agencies.

These new Fire Department members will spend the next two years as Probationary Firefighters and will continue their training in the field as they apply the skills learned in the classroom.

The following is a list of the new members and their assignments:

PFF Joshua Campbell - Station 17/Texas
PFF Donald Coster III - Station 8/Fullerton
PFF Joseph Galloway - Station 12/Middle River
PFF Daniel Glassman - Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF Scott Gross - Station 16/Golden Ring
PFF Russell Harris - Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF Steven Hinch - Station 17/Texas
PFF Brady Kiehl - Station 4/Catonsville
PFF Charles Phillips - Station 10/Parkville
PFF Anthony Saraceni - Station 3/Woodlawn
PFF Todd Schlossnagle - Station 56/Franklin
PFF Andrew Turner - Station 1/Towson

Revised June 27, 2017