Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Public Safety News


Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: ceremony

Tonight at 7 p.m., the Baltimore County Police Department will present awards to officers and county residents as part of an awards ceremony. The event will be held at Notre Dame Preparatory School, 815 Hampton Lane, Towson 21286.

Baltimore County Police Chief Melissa R. Hyatt will present the awards, while Pastor Melvin Rascoe will preside over the invocation and benediction.

Awards are given to officers who have performed extraordinarily over the last 12 months. The Baltimore County Police Department Awards Review Board spends months reviewing nominations based on departmental standard criteria.

Awards are presented to officers in the following categories:

Silver Star: This is the second highest Departmental Award. It recognizes officers who demonstrate valor, courage, intelligence and bravery over and above that normally demanded and expected.

  • Officer Nicholas A. Creaghan – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Officer Sheldon J. Reed – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Officer Branden C. A. Sands – Precinct 2/Woodlawn

Commendation: This is the third highest Departmental Award. It is awarded to officers who display courage and devotion to duty above that normally required, or who display intelligence during unusual circumstances, or who demonstrate initiative in solving a crime, or one who, under certain circumstances, arrest an armed and dangerous person.

  • Corporal Brian M. Cowley – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Detective Anthony N. Armetta – Criminal Investigations Bureau/Criminal Apprehension Support Team
  • Detective Allen E. Jones – Criminal Investigations Bureau/Criminal Apprehension Support Team
  • Detective Kenneth P. Nacke – Criminal Investigations Bureau/Criminal Apprehension Support Team
  • Detective Jason M. Sutton – Criminal Investigations Bureau/Criminal Apprehension Support Team
  • Detective Ellis E. Temple – Precinct 2/Woodlawn
  • Officer Christopher P. Harding – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Officer Kevin Pichardo – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Officer Dillon D. Waugh – Precinct 2/Woodlawn

Emergency Service Award: This award is awarded for an effort to save a human life.

  • Officer Timothy J. Bull – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Deputy Stacey Dickens – Baltimore City Sheriff’s Department
  • Officer Robert E. Francis – Precinct 12/Dundalk
  • Officer Kevin M. Thomas – Precinct 9/White Marsh

Distinguished Citizen’s Award: This award is presented to a citizen who rendered valuable assistance to Department members.

  • Jason Bremer
  • Tatyana Brown
  • Joseph Green
  • Michael R. Heller
  • Jeremy Kirkpatrick
  • Joseph C. McDermott
  • Robert Moore
  • Adedeji Oduntan
  • Daniel T. Rogers
  • Roy R. Taylor
  • Graftin Tyler

The Baltimore County Police Department will hold a promotion ceremony for 23 officers and two professional staff members on Monday, October 28. The 7 p.m. ceremony will take place at Oregon Ridge, in the Sequoia Room, 13401 Beaver Dam Road, Cockeysville, 21030.

Family and friends will join Baltimore County Executive John Olszewski, Jr., Chief Melissa R. Hyatt and other dignitaries for the event.

This is a significant first round of promotions for the new Chief.  Among the promotees includes, a female Captain to the command staff and the promotion of Tonya Johnson, who will become the first African American female Lieutenant for the Department.  

The following is a list of the promoted officers.

Promoted to the rank of Captain

  • Lieutenant Deanna L. Chemelli is promoted to the rank of Captain and is assigned to Precinct 6/Towson
  • Lieutenant Craig A. Mitchell is promoted to the rank of Captain and is assigned to Precinct 11/Essex

Promoted to the rank of Lieutenant

  • Sergeant Kevin C. Felbinger
  • Sergeant Mallory J. Grantham
  • Sergeant Tonya L. Johnson
  • Sergeant Lee M. Prince
  • Sergeant Paul L. Schulman

Promoted to the rank of Sergeant

  • Corporal Daniel M. Burns
  • Corporal Patrick R. Burns
  • Corporal William D. Delcher
  • Corporal Robert J. Huncher, Jr.
  • Corporal Bruce W. Kindervater
  • Corporal Dana P. McCormick
  • Corporal Joshua A. Watson
  • Corporal Randall W. Wright

Promoted to the rank of Corporal

  • Officer Robin D. Brock
  • Officer Robert C. Easter
  • Officer Scott G. McIlvain
  • Officer Jeffrey A. McMillan
  • Officer Rosa Park
  • Officer Jeremy R. Price
  • Officer Daniel R. Topper
  • Officer Rebecca L. Wagner

Professional Staff Promotions

  • Samantha Bosse is promoted to Criminal Records Supervisor
  • Kathy Wallace is promoted to Executive Secretary

The next edition of On the Beat, the Baltimore County Police Department’s cable TV program, runs through September. This edition covers the following segments.

  • School Safety – Sergeant Anissa Watkins, of the Safe Schools Section, discusses the successful partnership between the Baltimore County Police Department and Baltimore County Public Schools. Sergeant Watkins speaks about the enhanced safety that the School Resource Officer (SRO) program brings to students and staff in Baltimore County Public Schools, and provides school safety tips.
  • Swearing-In Ceremony of Police Chief Melissa R. Hyatt – On June 17, 2019, Melissa R. Hyatt took the oath of office to become the 14th Baltimore County Chief of Police.
  • Precinct 9 White Marsh – Captain Joseph Conger discusses how the officers assigned to the White Marsh Precinct keep our citizens safe in the eastern portion of Baltimore County.

These segments are available online, if you would like to watch it on your own computer, on your own schedule.

On the Beat also airs every day on Cable Channel 25, only in Baltimore County. The times are:

Monday: 10:30 a.m., 3:30 p.m., 7 p.m. and 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday: 9 a.m., 3:30 p.m. and 10 p.m.
Wednesday: 2 p.m. and 5 p.m.
Thursday: Noon, 4 p.m. and 10 p.m.
Friday: 10 a.m., 5 p.m. and 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9:30 a.m., 11 a.m., 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Sunday: 9:30 a.m., 11 a.m., 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Revised June 27, 2017