Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: recreation and parks

By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Department of Recreation & Parks

Spooky Story Campfire. Pokemon Late Night Madness. Wicked in the Woods. Yes, there are lots of Halloween events scheduled throughout Baltimore County’s parks and nature centers. But don’t let that stop you from discovering other ways to have fun, adventure, exercise and maybe learn a thing or two. Get your fill of the Halloween spirit(s) and more. 

Come October, the colors of  Baltimore County's 200 parks are absolutely spectacular. Take the time to take in the colors. Pictured, the Baltimore County Center for Maryland Agriculture and Farm Park in Cockeysville.   

Sunday, October 1

Monday, October 2

Wednesday, October 4

Thursday, October 5

Friday, October 6

Saturday, October 7

Sunday, October 8

Tuesday, October 10

Wednesday, October 11

Thursday, October 12

Friday, October 13

Saturday, October 14

Sunday, October 15

Monday, October 16

Tuesday, October 17

Wednesday, October 18

Thursday, October 19

Friday, October 20

Saturday, October 21

Sunday, October 22

Monday, October 23

Tuesday, October 24

Wednesday, October 25

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 27

Saturday, October 28

Sunday, October 29

Monday, October 30

Tuesday, October 31

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations. 

This is no trick, but indeed, a real treat. Happy Halloween and happy October!


by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

Just because summer is ending doesn’t mean the fun and adventure is stopping. Yoga in the Park, Monarch Magic, Arachnophobia, The Law of Claw and Fang, canoes and campfires – pick a time to walk and play among the soon-to-be-colorful trees, have fun at Baltimore County’s playgrounds, and participate in fall sports. September with Baltimore County Recreation and Parks features activities and explorations for adults, youngsters and families.   

Friday, September 1

Saturday, September 2

Sunday, September 3

Wednesday and Thursday, September 6 and 7

Friday, September 8

Saturday, September 9

Sunday, September 10

Monday, September 11

Wednesday, September 13

Thursday, September 14

Friday, September 15

Saturday, September 16

Sunday, September 17

Monday, September 18

Tuesday, September 19

Wednesday, September 20

Thursday, September 21

Friday, September 22

Saturday, September 23

Sunday, September 24

Wednesday, September 27

Thursday, September 28

Friday, September 29

Saturday, September 30

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations. 

With over 200 beautiful parks  and Recreation and Nature Council activities, September with Baltimore County Recreation and Parks is a must for your calendar. Youngsters ages 8 to 17 can enjoy Police Athletic League (PAL) After-School Programs at nine PAL Centers located throughout Baltimore County. Contact the PAL Center closest to you to join, mentor or volunteer. 


by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation & Parks

It just doesn’t happen that often. The last total solar eclipse in these parts was in 1991. Don’t miss the next one, Monday, August 21, 2017. While the “path of totality,” total blocking of the sun by the moon, just misses the Baltimore area, we will be seeing about 80% of this spectacular event. 

The word “seeing” is essential when experiencing a solar eclipse. It takes special knowledge and equipment to see this astronomical event. Do it wrong and you could do permanent damage to your eyesight.

Free Baltimore County Recreation and Parks events will help you prepare and enjoy this rare astronomical event.

Friday, August 11, 2017, Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum is featuring the first of two free events celebrating this moment in sky-viewing history. “Get Ready for the Great American Eclipse of 2017” starts at 7:00 p.m. You be introduced to the phenomenon of a solar eclipse and how to safely see what you may have never seen before -- and perhaps not see again in the foreseeable future. This session, for adults and children 8 and older, will be led by staff from the Maryland Science Center. 

Monday, August 21, join the Banneker staff to learn --and safely -- watch this memorable marvel unfold. Viewing starts at 1:00 p.m. and concludes at 4:00 p.m. The maximum view of the eclipse in Baltimore will be at 2:42 p.m., but part of the fun is watching the eclipse unfold and reveal the full sun again.  

The next total eclipse of the sun visible from Baltimore is April 8, 2024.  Mark your calendar now.

Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum is a 142-acre site dedicated to telling the inspiring story of the life and times of Benjamin Banneker, often considered the first African American man of science. The museum’s exhibits chronicle Banneker’s contributions as a largely self-taught mathematician, astronomer, almanac writer, surveyor, abolition advocate and naturalist during the late 1700s.The park offers diverse educational exhibits and environmental programs as well as trails and horticultural demonstration areas.

Benjamin Banneker Historical Park in Oella is one of more than 200 beautiful parks in Baltimore County.  You don’t have to wait for the next solar eclipse to get out and enjoy!


 
 
Revised September 11, 2017