Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: recreation and parks

By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

May in Baltimore County’s 220 parks brings special events for moms, a hunt for faeries and elves at Cromwell Valley Park, a Bloomin' Art Fest in Reisterstown, a community carnival in Colgate, campout at Lake Roland, full moon hikes, and Karma Fest. Mother's Day, Memorial Day, any day is a great day in the park.

Tuesdays through June 5

After School: Nature Scouts (reservations required)    Lake Roland

Friday, May 4

Friday Stroll    Lake Roland

Pokémon Late Night Madness    Marshy Point Nature Center

Bookwork Story Time    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Ephemeral Wildflower Walk (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Social Dance    Therapeutic Recreation

Saturday, May 5

Gardening for Butterflies and Bees (registration required)    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Primitive Technology Weekend    Cromwell Valley Park

Watercolor Cityscape (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Native Plant Sale    Lake Roland

Yoga in the Park   Lake Roland

Workboat Trip to Hart Miller Island (registration required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Rock On! Painted Rocks (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Sunday, May 6

Primitive Technology Weekend    Cromwell Valley Park

Nature Quest Canoe (registration required)    Lake Roland

Cattails, The Jack of all Plants    Marshy Point Nature Center

Monday, May 7

Pre-K Nature Drop-In: Baby Plants    Marshy Point Nature Center

Tuesday, May 8

Baltimore Bird Club Walk    Lake Roland

Wednesday, May 9 through Saturday, May 12

Colgate Annual Carnival    Colgate Recreation Council

Wednesday, May 9

Natural World of Art: Vase Pendant (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Preschool Program (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Thursday, May 10

Dulcimer Workshop (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Shoots and Letter: Snakes    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Friday, May 11

Night Out with Nature: The Maryland Biodiversity Project with Jim Brighton (registration required)    Cromwell Valley Park

Creative Clay: Silly Bird (concludes May 25 – registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Friday Stoll   Lake Roland

Morning Bird Walk (registration appreciated)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Show Choir and Jr. Show Choir    Therapeutic Recreation

Saturday, May 12

International Migratory Bird Day    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Discovering Orioles (registration required)    Cromwell Valley Park

TALMAR Gardens Mother’s Day Plant Sale    Cromwell Valley Park

BUGS!    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Bonfire and Night Hike    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Spring Family Campout (concludes May 13 - registration required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Mother’s Day Story, Walk and Tea (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

12th Annual Bloomin’ ArtFest    Reisterstown Recreation Council

Sunday, May 13

TALMAR Gardens Mother’s Day Plant Sale    Cromwell Valley Park

Mother’s Day Tea    Cromwell Valley Park

Mother’s Day Bird Walk    Lake Roland

Mother’s Day Birdwalk    Marshy Point Nature Center

Mother’s Day Canoe Trip (registration required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Mother’s Day Story, Walk and Tea (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Monday, May 14

Pre-K Nature Drop-In: Rainbow Flowers    Marshy Point Nature Center

Nature Book Club – The Tide: The Science and Stories Behind the Greatest Force on Earth by Hugh  Aldersey-Williams (registration appreciated)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Tuesday, May 15

Baltimore Bird Club Walk    Lake Roland

Speaker Series: “The World of the Dragonfly” by Susan Minor    Marshy Point Nature Center

Wednesday, May 16

Natural World of Art: Flowers, Painted with Yarn (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Preschool Program (registration required)   Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Amphibian Walk (registration required)     Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Thursday, May 17

Dulcimer Workshop (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Shoots and Letters: Turtles    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Friday, May 18

Spring Campout (continues through May 19 – reservations required)    Lake Roland

Friday Stroll    Lake Roland

Saturday, May 19

Mid-Atlantic Turtles and Tortoises Society Speaker Series   Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Wildflower Jelly Making (registration required)    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

What’s Cookin’, Mr. Banneker?    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Master Gardener Plant Sale    Baltimore County Center for Maryland Agriculture and Farm Park

Spring Wildflower Walk    Cromwell Valley Park

All About Pets    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

The Hive and the Honeybee    Marshy Point Nature Center

Live Bluegrass and Country Music at Victory Villa Community Center    Middle River Recreation Council

Native Plant Swap    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Karma Fest    Oregon Ridge Park

Sunday, May 20

Faeries and Elves of the Forest    Cromwell Valley Park

Fishing the Dock (registration required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Karma Fest     Oregon Ridge Park

Monday, May 21

Pre-K Nature Drop-In: Honeybees    Marshy Point Nature Center

Oregon Ridge Nature Center Council Speaker Series – The View Below: Amazing Sights in Our Everyday Streams.  Keith Williams, Executive Director, NorthBay: Author; Underwater Naturalist  Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Wednesday, May 23

Natural World of Art: Soda Can Flower (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Preschool Program (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Thursday, May 24

Dulcimer Workshop (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Shoots and Letters: What lives under logs?    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Friday, May 25

Late Spring Starry Night Campfire (registration required)    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Full Flower Moon Night Hike    Cromwell Valley Park

Friday Stroll    Lake Roland

Full Planting Moon Canoe Trip (registration required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Saturday, May 26

Moss Workshop (registration required)    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Oella History Hike (registration required)    Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

Drop in Gardening    Cromwell Valley Park

Girl Scouts Day (registration required)    Cromwell Valley Park

Estuary Exploration    Marshy Point Nature Center

Sunday, May 27

Corn & Dog Roast (registration required)    Cromwell Valley Park

Bluebirds on the Bay    Marshy Point Nature Center

Wednesday, May 30   

Natural World of Art: Strawberries (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Preschool Program (registration required)    Holt Park and Center for the Arts

Thursday, May 31

Dulcimer Workshop (registration required)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Shoots and Letters: What lives in the trees?    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations.

With our parks in full bloom now, what better time to take a walk, hike or run.  Check out our over 200 Baltimore County Parks to experience the beauty and fresh air up-close and personal.  They are your parks. Enjoy them to the fullest!

 

 


by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

Baltimore County parks are filled with walks, arts, frog songs and Earth Day adventures. Start planning your April fun now.

Monday, April 2

  • School’s Out Day (registration required)    Lake Roland

Tuesday, April 3

Wednesday, April 4

Thursday, April 5

Friday, April 6

Saturday, April 7

Sunday, April 8

Monday, April 9

Tuesday, April 10

Thursdays, April 12 through October 18

Wednesday, April 11

Thursday, April 12

Friday, April 13

Saturday, April 14

Sunday, April 15

Monday, April 16

Tuesday, April 17

Wednesday, April 18

Thursday, April 19

Friday, April 20 through Sunday, April 22

Friday, April 20

Saturday, April 21

Sunday, April 22

Monday, April 23

Tuesday, April 24

Wednesday, April 25

Thursday, April 26

Friday, April 27

Saturday, April 28

Sunday, April 29

Monday, April 30

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations and whether registration is required.

April means longer and warmer days to enjoy the beauty of Baltimore County Recreation and Parks in bloom. Take in the beauty of the season by sampling our 200 Parks  and Nature Centers.


By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

Here’s your “March-ing” orders for exploration and fun. Check out maple sugaring exhibits. Try yoga as you’ve never done it before. Make a spinning wind catcher or become a world class “weed warrior.” Browse your way on a bird walk and go on a family egg hunt. Spring is almost sprung, so get to know Baltimore County’s 200 parks and nature centers.

Thursday, March 1

Friday, March 2

Saturday, March 3

Sunday, March 4

Monday, March 5

Tuesday, March 6

  • Central Maryland Beekeepers Association – Speaker Series:  “A Year in the Life of a Commercial Beekeeper”    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Wednesday, March 7

Thursday, March 8

Friday, March 9

Saturday, March 10

Sunday, March 11

Monday, March 12

Wednesday, March 14, Thursday, March 15, Friday, March 16

Wednesday, March 14

Thursday, March 15

Friday, March 16

Saturday, March 17

Sunday, March 18

Monday, March 19

Tuesday, March 20

Wednesday, March 21

Thursday, March 22

Friday, March 23

Saturday, March 24

Sunday, March 25

Monday, March 26

Tuesday, March 27

Wednesday, March 28

Thursday, March 29

Friday, March 30

Saturday, March 31

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations.

As the weather is changing, enjoy our 200 beautiful Parks and Nature Centers. March is a great time to rediscover Baltimore County Recreation and Parks!

 

###


 
 
Revised September 11, 2017