Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: parks

Show Airs on Cable Channel 25 and Online

The latest edition of Baltimore County’s half-hour cable television public affairs show, “Hello Baltimore County,” features a one-on-one interview with Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler, and covers the importance of vaccines for everyone. The show debuts a new segment, "What’s Up Doc?," starring Baltimore County Director of Health and Human Services Gregory Wm. Branch, M.D., MBA, CPE, FACP.

Meet Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler – Don Mohler, elected by the County Council to complete the term of the late Baltimore County Executive Kevin Kamenetz, discusses his priorities and goals for the County.

What’s Up Doc? – Baltimore County’s top doc, Dr. Gregory Wm. Branch and his staff highlight the importance and safety of vaccines for kids and adults.

Summer at the Park – Director of Recreation and Parks Barry F. Williams offers suggestions for summer fun for everyone.

You can also view the show on the County website’s Hello Baltimore County page. In addition to online access, the program runs several times per week on Cable Channel 25, in Baltimore County, at the following times:

Mondays: 1:30 p.m., 6 p.m., 10 p.m.

Tuesdays: 12 p.m., 7:30 p.m., 9 p.m.

Wednesdays: 11 a.m., 1 p.m., 4 p.m., 10 p.m.

Thursdays: 1 p.m., 4:30 p.m., 8 p.m.

Fridays: 11 a.m., 6 p.m.

Saturdays: 10 a.m., 12 p.m., 3 p.m., 7 p.m., 10:30 p.m.

Sundays: 10 a.m., 12 p.m., 3 p.m., 7 p.m., 10:30 p.m.


By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

For many of us, this time of the year inspires us to make promises for our health, happiness, family and our own well-being. Now’s the time to promise to take advantage of the nature, arts, athletic and fun programs at Baltimore County Recreation and Parks. Whether you’d like to try yoga, volunteer to restore a winter habitat, learn about the nighttime sky, or listen to live bluegrass music, there’s a nature or recreation center program for you.

On your mark, get set, start off the New Year with a promise of fun, health and happiness for 2018!

Monday, January 1

  • First Day Hike (registration required)    Lake Roland
  • First Day Yoga (registration required)   Lake Roland

Wednesday, January 3

Thursday, January 4

Friday, January 5

Saturday, January 6 

Sunday, January 7

Monday, January 8

Wednesday, January 10

Thursday, January 11

Friday, January 12

Saturday, January 13

Sunday, January 14

Monday, January 15

Tuesday, January 16

  • Speaker Series: “The Role of Connection to Nature on Psychological Well-Being and Spirituality” (reservations required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Wednesday, January 17

Thursday, January 18

Friday, January 19

Saturday, January 20

Sunday, January 21

Monday, January 22

Wednesday, January 24

Thursday, January 25

Friday, January 26

Saturday, January 27

Sunday, January 28

Monday, January 29

Wednesday, Janary 31

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations.

Just a reminder, our more than 200 beautiful Parks are open sunrise to sunset throughout the cool winter months.  Think of the invigorating walks, magnificent sites, and times to reflect as you hit the trails and visit our Nature CentersWhat an incredible way to spend a cool day.


By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

From fireworks high in the sky to the mud between your toes; from classical to jazz; from canoeing to hiking the trails—have we got a July for you! Take a look at the Baltimore County Recreation and Parks July 2017 Happenings listed below and make a commitment to yourself to enjoy July like you’ve never enjoyed it before!

Saturday, July 1

Sunday, July 2

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 4

Wednesday, July 5

Thursday, July 6

Friday, July 7

Saturday, July 8

Sunday, July 9

Tuesday, July 11

Wednesday, July 12

Thursday, July 13

Friday, July 14

Saturday, July 15

Sunday, July 16

Tuesday, July 18

Wednesday, July 19

Thursday, July 20

Friday, July 21

Saturday, July 22

Sunday, July 23

Tuesday, July 25

Wednesday, July 26

Thursday, July 27

Friday, July 28

Saturday, July 29

Sunday, July 30

Monday, July 31

Therapeutic Recreation Camps

Four-Week Camps: July 3 to July 28

Five-Week Camps: June 26 to July 28

PAL Summer Programs

In addition to all the great programs listed above, there are nine incredible PAL Centers located throughout the County with exciting and fun programs for youngsters ages 8 to 17. Contact a PAL center closest to you to learn more about these programs.   

Programs are run by Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations. 

Baltimore County boasts more than 200 beautiful parks. From the small park around the corner, to those big beautiful parks with sites and amenities well worth the short drive to see and experience. Come on now, its summer, it’s time to see our parks up close and personal!


 
 
Revised September 11, 2017