Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: olszewski

Stylized Crab Image Calls Out Potential Risks to Food Sources

County Executive Johnny Olszewski announced that the County’s anti-litter outreach campaign, "Litter Doesn't Stop Where it Drops", won a prestigious international award for its artistic imagery and clear messaging that highlights the connection between litter and its damaging effect on aquatic life, including the seafood that we eat. The ads, designed by the Towson advertising firm Pinnacle Communications Resource Company, ran on buses, trash cans, social media and other locations.

A crab that is also made up of trash like, a glass bottle, an old spoon and a cigarette butt. Also features the text litter doesn't stop where it drops, put litter in its place

“Litter is an unsightly issue in many of our neighborhoods and in our waterways,” said Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski. “We are reminding people that litter has long-term consequences that can be easily prevented by all of us being mindful of its effect on the environment by making simple changes to how we dispose of our trash and recyclables.”

The Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability’s “Litter Doesn’t Stop Where it Drops” ad campaign, which launched this spring, took Bronze in the international 2019 Summit Creative Awards. The awards series recognizes advertising worldwide and is considered the premier arbiter of creative excellence for small and medium advertising firms. The winning ad was selected from more than 4,500 submissions from 27 countries and was among only 11% of total entries that won an award.

The campaign (PDF) features a stylized photograph of a steamed Maryland blue crab with part of its body replaced with pieces of litter. The outreach campaign illustrates how litter can hit the ground and be carried away by wind or rain down the nearest storm drain and into streams and the Chesapeake Bay. Additional ads will be running in the upcoming months.

County Executive Reiterates the Importance of a Complete Count

Article 1, Section 2 of the United States Constitution mandates an enumeration every ten years of a jurisdiction’s population to apportion congressional representation to the states. Pursuant to Section 141 of Title 13 of the United States Code, the next Federal Decennial Census of the population and housing will be taken on April 1, 2020.

A complete and accurate count of Baltimore County's population is essential because the Census count determines congressional representation, legislative redistricting, and federal formula grant allocations. Maryland receives more than $13 billion in federal funds annually and uses Census data to allocate funds for more than 70 state programs, including health, human services, education and transportation.

In order to ensure that the County receives its fair share of Federal resources it is essential that every Baltimore County resident is counted as part of the 2020 Census.

As County Executive of Baltimore County, Maryland, I hereby proclaim July 30, 2019, as the official Baltimore County Census Kick-Off. I invite you to join me in our complete count efforts. As residents of Baltimore County, each of us have a responsibility to complete the Census so that we can ensure a better Baltimore County. Our future starts here!

Over the next several months residents will see more information about how they can assist in ensuring that we count everyone in Baltimore County. We are committed to obtaining an accurate count of residents in Baltimore County while ensuring everyone’s privacy and dignity are protected.

Totals 561 Acres of Land Preservation

County Executive Johnny Olszewski announced today that offers have been made to preserve five farms totaling 561 acres in Baltimore County through the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation. While frequently recognized for its very important and primary purpose of protecting our region's prime soils for food and fiber production, land preservation does so much more by protecting:

  • Drinking water for 1.6 million people of the Metropolitan District
  • Forest land for wildlife and air quality
  • The scenic beauty of the countryside by keeping sprawl at bay—an effort that reduces the cost of County services and thus the cost of government

The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation made offers to five farms in Baltimore County through the Fiscal Year 2019 State easement process. The offers were scheduled to go before the State Board of Public Works on July 24 for approval of $2.8 million in funding. Subsequently, a request will go before the Baltimore County Council for $1.3 million in County-matching funds that comes from voter-approved bond funds.

Critically Important to Our Future

“Land preservation is critically important to the future of Baltimore County. Each new easement is an accomplishment illustrating the dedication of landowners, creative partnerships of land trusts and government agencies, and financial support of the County citizenry,” Olszewski said.

The five farms illustrate the multiple purposes that farmland preservation provides in Baltimore County:

  • The 119-acre horse farm in the Long Green Valley includes 45 acres of forest that adjoins the Gunpowder State Park and Little Gunpowder River, providing greater water quality protection and additional forest lands to buffer the State park.
  • The 95-acre portion of a 200-acre dairy in the Western Run is one of the five remaining dairies in Baltimore County. Dairies are one of the highest economic generators of all the farm industries providing a multiplier in terms of other payrolls.
  • The 169-acre crop farm in the Parkton area is part of an over 350-acre farm that has extensive forest that border the Prettyboy Reservoir properties, thus playing a role in the protection of the Metropolitan Drinking Water system that supplies over 1.6 million people.
  • The 75-acre horse farm in Sparks along the Maryland designated Horses and Hounds Scenic Byway provides scenic beauty and adds to the 19,400-acre easement block of the Piney Run Rural Legacy Area—one of the largest blocks of protected lands on the East Coast.
  • While farmers in Baltimore County lease most of their land for cropland, it is also important to have acreage that they own that they can fully control. The fifth farm is 103 acres that is owned by a multi-generation family farm business.

A Leader in Land Preservation

Baltimore County is a leader in land preservation in the nation, with over 66,000 acres preserved, not including the 561 acres when the easements for these farms settle. The County’s 2020 Master Plan’s goal for land preservation is at least 80,000 acres. Most recently, the County has preserved nearly 1,000 acres a year, and with the State and Land Trusts cooperative efforts we hope to increase the amount preserved each year.

Landowners interested in preserving their lands through either donations or selling development rights can find more information on programs and applications on the County website.

Revised September 11, 2017