Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: enjoy baltimore county

By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Department of Recreation & Parks

Spooky Story Campfire. Pokemon Late Night Madness. Wicked in the Woods. Yes, there are lots of Halloween events scheduled throughout Baltimore County’s parks and nature centers. But don’t let that stop you from discovering other ways to have fun, adventure, exercise and maybe learn a thing or two. Get your fill of the Halloween spirit(s) and more. 

Come October, the colors of  Baltimore County's 200 parks are absolutely spectacular. Take the time to take in the colors. Pictured, the Baltimore County Center for Maryland Agriculture and Farm Park in Cockeysville.   

Sunday, October 1

Monday, October 2

Wednesday, October 4

Thursday, October 5

Friday, October 6

Saturday, October 7

Sunday, October 8

Tuesday, October 10

Wednesday, October 11

Thursday, October 12

Friday, October 13

Saturday, October 14

Sunday, October 15

Monday, October 16

Tuesday, October 17

Wednesday, October 18

Thursday, October 19

Friday, October 20

Saturday, October 21

Sunday, October 22

Monday, October 23

Tuesday, October 24

Wednesday, October 25

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 27

Saturday, October 28

Sunday, October 29

Monday, October 30

Tuesday, October 31

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations. 

This is no trick, but indeed, a real treat. Happy Halloween and happy October!


by Charlie Dyjak, Baltimore County Office of Communications Intern

August is right around the corner, bringing with it autumn. To most people this would spur thoughts of brisk nights, fresh apple cider, and the changing leaves making entire forests look like a bowl of Apple Jacks. Families look forward to weekends filled with hay rides and getting lost in corn mazes.

Fall means something entirely different to college football fans.

Fall is prepping to see how your team compares to your rivals in the pre-season and smack talking the members of your fantasy league. Most important, it is perfecting your buffalo dip for the upcoming tailgates and games.

Team Spirit

For Maryland fans, we have three well known and respected college teams to root for, the UMD Terps, the Towson Tigers and the Stevenson Mustangs.

Here’s a quick rundown to help even the rookie fan sound like a long-time follower of our hometown teams. 

Fear the Turtle

The Terps did not have the best 2016 season, falling just below .500 with a 6-7 season, led by new head coach DJ Durkin in his first year as a head coach. The Terps lost three players to the NFL draft, Levern Jacobs to the Redskins, Alvin Hill to the Browns and Will Likely III to the Patriots. Likely was one of the Terps star players and left some big shoes to fill on the field. Durkin signed a recruiting class that is ranked in the top 20 recruiting classes for the year, with 28 new recruits. Maryland will face a daunting schedule next year with Big 10 games against Ohio State, Penn State, and Michigan, all teams that are currently ranked in the preseason top 10. The Terps open up against a familiar face, the Towson Tigers.

Go Tigers!

The Tigers went 4-7 in their 2016 season. But that is history. The Tigers recruited 27 new players for this season. Lyndon Johnson, former runback and recruiting coach, has been named the Tigers defensive coordinator.

The 2017 schedule includes three out-of-conference games, the most notable against Maryland. Towson is coming in as the underdog in this fight. A win here could define the rest of the season for both teams.

 

It’s a Good Day to be a Mustang

The Stevenson Mustangs had the best 2016 season of the three hometown teams, finishing with a 9-2 record. Wesley took them out in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, but Stevenson’s program hit a historic milestone last season when star safety Austin Tennessee was invited to the Vikings mini-camp, becoming the first Stevenson player to reach the NFL. This achievement will help bring in better recruits in the coming years. After getting a taste of the NCAA Tournament, the Mustangs will come out with a chip on their shoulder this season and hope to make it well past the first round. 

And then there’s “UNDEFEATED”

The UMBC Retrievers are still going undefeated! OK, you can’t lose if you don’t have an intercollegiate football team. But the Retrievers excel at basketball, carrying a strong 21-13 record in 2016. This impressive record led them to the CIT semi-finals last year. Retrievers’ fans, hang in there. Basketball season is coming soon.

 

Marylanders have great home town teams to root for. Get into the team spirit. Go Terps-Tigers-Mustangs-Retrievers!

If great college sports aren't enough to fill your weekends, you can find more places to visit and experiences to enjoy at www.enjoybaltimorecounty.com .


 
 
Revised September 11, 2017