Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: community centers

by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

Baltimore County parks are filled with walks, arts, frog songs and Earth Day adventures. Start planning your April fun now.

Monday, April 2

  • School’s Out Day (registration required)    Lake Roland

Tuesday, April 3

Wednesday, April 4

Thursday, April 5

Friday, April 6

Saturday, April 7

Sunday, April 8

Monday, April 9

Tuesday, April 10

Thursdays, April 12 through October 18

Wednesday, April 11

Thursday, April 12

Friday, April 13

Saturday, April 14

Sunday, April 15

Monday, April 16

Tuesday, April 17

Wednesday, April 18

Thursday, April 19

Friday, April 20 through Sunday, April 22

Friday, April 20

Saturday, April 21

Sunday, April 22

Monday, April 23

Tuesday, April 24

Wednesday, April 25

Thursday, April 26

Friday, April 27

Saturday, April 28

Sunday, April 29

Monday, April 30

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations and whether registration is required.

April means longer and warmer days to enjoy the beauty of Baltimore County Recreation and Parks in bloom. Take in the beauty of the season by sampling our 200 Parks  and Nature Centers.


By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

For many of us, this time of the year inspires us to make promises for our health, happiness, family and our own well-being. Now’s the time to promise to take advantage of the nature, arts, athletic and fun programs at Baltimore County Recreation and Parks. Whether you’d like to try yoga, volunteer to restore a winter habitat, learn about the nighttime sky, or listen to live bluegrass music, there’s a nature or recreation center program for you.

On your mark, get set, start off the New Year with a promise of fun, health and happiness for 2018!

Monday, January 1

  • First Day Hike (registration required)    Lake Roland
  • First Day Yoga (registration required)   Lake Roland

Wednesday, January 3

Thursday, January 4

Friday, January 5

Saturday, January 6 

Sunday, January 7

Monday, January 8

Wednesday, January 10

Thursday, January 11

Friday, January 12

Saturday, January 13

Sunday, January 14

Monday, January 15

Tuesday, January 16

  • Speaker Series: “The Role of Connection to Nature on Psychological Well-Being and Spirituality” (reservations required)    Marshy Point Nature Center

Wednesday, January 17

Thursday, January 18

Friday, January 19

Saturday, January 20

Sunday, January 21

Monday, January 22

Wednesday, January 24

Thursday, January 25

Friday, January 26

Saturday, January 27

Sunday, January 28

Monday, January 29

Wednesday, Janary 31

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations.

Just a reminder, our more than 200 beautiful Parks are open sunrise to sunset throughout the cool winter months.  Think of the invigorating walks, magnificent sites, and times to reflect as you hit the trails and visit our Nature CentersWhat an incredible way to spend a cool day.


Record $67.5 million invested since 2010

Baltimore County Executive Kevin Kamenetz’s upcoming budget  will add new turf fields to Randallstown and Perry Hall High Schools and CCBC’s Catonsville campus. It will also include funds to replace worn turf fields at Hereford, Lansdowne and Woodlawn High Schools.  The FY18 budget, to be presented this Thursday, includes $10.5 million in recreation funding, with $4.5 million dedicated to more than 90 maintenance and refurbishment projects throughout the County.

 

Baltimore County’s more than 212 parks, community centers and recreation spaces serve thousands of people, not only from Baltimore County but from all around the region. From new trails at Marshy Point to Lake Roland, the County has funded a record $67.5 million in new parks, community centers and turf fields since 2010. The County’s recreation programs are supported by more than 11,000 volunteers annually.

“As recent census data shows, the population in Baltimore County continues to grow, and one of the main reasons is our quality of life,” said Kamenetz. “The budget that I will present this week continues to invest in the recreation programs that help make our communities stronger.”

Turf Fields

Since 2010, Baltimore County has built new turf fields in every region of the County, bringing our total to 18. With the new fields proposed in this budget, and the field currently under construction at Sparrows Point High School, the total number of turf fields in Baltimore County will total 22.         

“Our ongoing investment in turf fields all over the County is about access and opportunity. They are used three to five times as much as traditional natural grass fields,” said Kamenetz. “These fields are literally used from morning to night, and are not affected by the weather. Their availability allows thousands more to participate in our recreation programs.”

Kamenetz’s budget will include requests to add the following fields to its inventory:

  • $800,000         Turf field at CCBC Catonsville to support regional recreation programs
  • $800,000         Turf field at Perry Hall High School
  • $1.1 million     Turf field and lights for stadium at Randallstown High School

The budget will also include $1.5 million dollars to replace the existing turf fields at Hereford, Lansdowne, and Woodlawn High Schools.

“The commitment to continue our progress is really a great example of how local government works,” said the County Executive. “The County Council, our state delegation, and community advocates all come together in support of these initiatives. Senator Kasemeyer and Delegate Jones have been particularly helpful in their leadership roles in Annapolis.”

“I see the impact that these fields have in my community all of the time,” said 1st District Councilman and Council Chair Tom Quirk. “I am very excited that we will be adding a regional site at CCBC in my district that will create additional opportunities for the young people in Arbutus and Lansdowne as well as Catonsville.”

“Randallstown in an outstanding high school, and I am delighted that the County Executive is proposing to fund a turf field and lights for the students there,” said 4th District Councilman Julian Jones. “I worked with the community and the administration to secure this funding, and it is very exciting to see it become a reality.”

“Adding a turf field at Perry Hall High School is just outstanding news,” said 6th District Councilwoman Cathy Bevins. “When the community approached me to help with this project, I immediately met with the County Executive. I could not be more pleased to hear that this field is being funded.”

“I feel like it is Christmas Day,” said Paul Muller, one of the community leaders who led the effort to get a turf field for Perry Hall High School. “This is a big day for Perry Hall, and I can’t thank County Executive Kamenetz and Councilwoman Bevins enough for their enthusiasm and public support of this project. I also want to thank everyone in Perry Hall and all of the elected officials for working together to make this happen for our community. They’ve made a lot of young men and women very happy today.”

$4.5 million for maintenance and refurbishment projects

  • $2.2 million     Refurbish ball diamonds and fields at 56 locations around the County
  • $700,000         Resurface multi-purpose and tennis courts at 31 sites
  • $500,000         Replace indoor turf at Northeast Area Regional Recreation Center
  • $500,000         Improvements to Double Rock Park
  • $500,000         Phase II for erosion control at Kingsville Park
  • $250,000         Repairs to backstops and safety fences

“I am very pleased that the County is making a significant commitment to taking care of its recreation sites,” said 2nd District Councilwoman Vicki Almond. “Thousands of young people and adults in my district and all around the County are on these fields all of the time, and it is important for the County to ensure that they are being maintained.”

“While it is important that we continue to build new facilities, it is also imperative that we maintain the existing fields and facilities in our inventory,” concluded County Executive Kamenetz. “I am very proud of our fiscal management that allows us to invest in our communities and our recreation programs.”


 
 
Revised September 11, 2017