Skip Navigation

Sexual Assault Investigations Task Force

In February, County Executive Johnny Olszewski created the Sexual Assault Investigations Task Force to examine current investigation and prosecution policies, practices and training related to sexual assault complaints, including the review of past case files.


The scope of the task force’s review will include the following:

  • Review training for law enforcement officials involved in the response to sexual assault allegations, ensuring investigations are victim-centered and trauma-informed.
  • Review data related to sexual assault investigations, ensuring proper tracking and accountability mechanisms are in place.
  • Assess resources available for investigating sexual assault complaints, testing old and new rape kits, and make adjustments as necessary.
  • Research and recommend implementation of national best practices, including the International Association of Chiefs of Police Trauma Informed Sexual Assault Investigation Training, which provides law enforcement and multidisciplinary partners with information on the neurobiology of trauma and investigative strategies to respond to sexual assault crimes in a victim-centered and trauma-informed manner.


Date and Time


Meeting Documents

March 15
3 p.m.

Historic Courthouse, Room 118
400 Washington Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

April 26
3 p.m.

Historic Courthouse, Room 118
400 Washington Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204


The task force consists of the following members:

  • Sheryl Goldstein (Task Force Chair), Vice President of the Abell Foundation
  • David Thomas, Program Manager with the International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Rosalyn Branson, CEO of TurnAround
  • Laura Clary, Program Manager of the Sexual Assault Forensic Exam (SAFE) Program at GBMC
  • John Cox, Deputy State's Attorney from the Baltimore County State's Attorney’s Office
  • Lieutenant Brian Edwards, Commander of the Baltimore County Police Department’s Special Victims Unit
  • Nadia BenAissa, Student at UMBC—We Believe You
Revised April 29, 2019         



County Executive,
John Olszewski, Jr.
Phone: 410-887-2450

Contact the County Executive.

Request a ceremonial document.

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*