Skip Navigation

Ethics Commission Members and Staff


The Commission is required to meet regularly, at least 10 times each year; and when required by the chairman or a majority of the members of the Commission. (§ 3-3-1004, Baltimore County Code, 2015) If you would like to know when the next upcoming meeting will take place, view the meeting schedule.

Commission Members

The Ethics Commission consists of five members appointed by the County Executive. Of the five members, two must be members of a political party to which the County Executive does not belong and two must be lawyers licensed to practice law in this state. A Commission member must be a resident of the county, may not be an elected or appointed officer of or be a candidate for election to federal, state, or local office or as an official of a political party and may not be an employee of the state or a local government. (§ 3-3-1002, Baltimore County Code, 2015) Members may serve up to two, three-year terms. Apply for a vacancy online.


Date Appointed*

Current Term

Appointed By

Jeffery L. Forman, Chairman



County Executive
Republican Representative

Lee Jacobson



County Executive
Attorney Representative

J. Michael Lawlor



County Executive
Attorney Representative

Cindy L. Leppert



County Executive
Attorney Representative

G. Darrell Russell, Jr.



County Executive
Republican Representative

*Although a new member's term by Code begins on July 1, per Baltimore County Code § 3-3-103(b)(1), "At the end of a term, an elected or appointed member, director, or trustee of a board, commission, committee, panel or foundation established under this title continues to serve until a successor is appointed or elected and qualifies."

Executive Director

On recommendation of the Ethics Commission, the County Executive appoints an Executive Director for the Commission. The Executive Director of the Commission must meet the eligibility requirements for members of the Commission. (§ 3-3-1004(d), Baltimore County Code, 2015)

The Executive Director of the Ethics Commission is Elaine Katz.

Staff Support and Legal Counsel

The Office of Law provides staff support and Legal Counsel to the Ethics Commission. Please direct inquiries about the Ethics Commission to the Office of Law by telephone at 410-887-5904.

Revised December 23, 2019         


Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*