Skip Navigation

Undelivered, Late or Unpaid Tax Bills

Partial Payments

You can make partial payments towards your bill up until the end of February. Making partial payments will not stop interest from accruing, but will in most instances reduce the interest added to your bill. Partial payments cannot be made electronically either over the phone or on the web. Upon receipt of payment, we will issue a shortage bill reflecting amounts paid and amounts remaining unpaid.

Non-Delivery of Bills or Payments

Baltimore County Government is not responsible for non-delivery of your property tax bill or your payment; and by law, we may not adjust applicable interest penalties for late or non-payment assessed to you because we did not receive your tax bill or we did not receive your payment. If you elect to pay your tax bill by cashier's check, money order or any similar means for which you do not receive a cancellation notice, you may provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope so that we may notify you that your payment was received.

Tax Sale of Property (Delinquent Taxes)

Real property tax bills are issued on July 1 each year. Failure to pay either in full, or if eligible, to make the first of two payments on the semiannual basis by September 30 will result in your account being considered delinquent. Interest will begin to accrue until such time as the taxes are paid in full.

Delinquent notices are mailed in February to all taxpayers whose accounts remain unpaid. Any unpaid balances due past December 31 are considered delinquent and subject to accrued interest, penalties and tax sale.

On March 1, a Final Tax Sale notice is mailed. This allows you 30 days to pay the property taxes, along with accrued interest and penalties. If you fail to respond to this final written notice, your property is subject to being sold at the annual tax sale. This year's tax sale will be held sometime in June.

If your property is sold for taxes, you have six months from the date of the sale in which to redeem your property. Baltimore County posts properties to be sold on its website around the first of May.

Real Property Liens

A lien certificate (PDF) indicates the status of any unpaid taxes or charges associated with a real property tax account. Lien certificates are required prior to any transfer of real property accounts. The cost is $55 and checks should be made payable to Baltimore County, Maryland. A completed application should accompany your payment. Applications can be obtained in person or by sending a self-addressed, stamped envelope to:

Baltimore County Office of Budget and Finance
400 Washington Avenue, Room 150
Towson, Maryland 21204

In most cases, all unpaid taxes and charges on the lien certificate have to be paid before the property transfer can be done. Call the Transfer Tax Section for information relating to specific accounts at 410-887-2416. If you have a legal lien on your credit report, call the Liens Section, Clerk of the Court at 410-887-2622.

Hardship Installment Payment Program

The Hardship Installment Payment Program is available to residential taxpayers who have experienced a temporary financial hardship and need additional time in order to meet their tax liability. Under this plan, eligibility is based upon hardship, repayment ability and financial disclosure. Once approved, your eligibility is only for the fiscal tax year in which you applied. All future taxes must be kept current to maintain your eligibility in this program. An application must be filed by the end of February to avoid sale of the property at the annual tax sale held in June.

 
Revised May 22, 2019         

 

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*