Skip Navigation

Apply for and Renew an Animal License

Online animal license renewal will be unavailable for the next several months. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

You may still apply or renew by mail or in person. 

For more information, please contact Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses at 410-887-3630.

All dogs and cats four months of age or older and kept in Baltimore County for longer than 30 days per year must be licensed annually. You must provide a copy of a valid rabies certificate to apply for or to renew an animal license. The license period is July 1 through June 30. You must renew your license each year between May 1 and July 31 to avoid penalty fees.

All applications must be approved by Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses prior to issuance. Failure to provide all information may result in your application being rejected. Guide dog and holding facility licenses cannot be completed online.

Apply or Renew by Mail or In Person

To apply by mail or in person, print and submit a completed animal license application (PDF), as well as an up-to-date rabies vaccination certificate and applicable fees. Materials may be submitted by mail or in person at any of the following locations:

Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses
County Office Building, Room 101
111 West Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, Maryland 21204

Baltimore County Animal Services, Baldwin     
13800 Manor Road
Baldwin, Maryland 21013
410-887-PAWS (7297)

For new owners only, any Baltimore County Full Service Library (Locations)
Please note that a $2 library convenience fee will be applied.




Penalty Fee After July 31

Altered Animal License
(Owner under 60 years of age)



Altered Animal License
(Owner over 60 years of age)



Unaltered Animal License
(Owner under 60 years of age)



Unaltered Animal License
(Owner over 60 years of age)



Library Convenience


Not applicable

License Tag Replacement


Not applicable

Licensing a Guide Dog

Guide dogs require a completed affidavit form (PDF) in addition to the completed animal license application (PDF) to request a license. Documentation is required to show that the dog has been professionally trained as a guide dog by a service dog trainer or service dog trainer organization.

Download and follow the instructions (PDF) for applying for a guide dog license. There is no fee for licensing guide dogs and the "guide dog tag" does not change annually.

Licensing More than Three Dogs in A Home

If you have more than three dogs, you are required to obtain a holding facility or kennel license. Contact Miscellaneous Permits and Licenses at 410-887-3616 or email to find more information.


Revised November 1, 2017         


Animal Services

Did This Page Help?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*