Skip Navigation

Outreach Initiative

Medicare Prescription Drug Program Open Enrollment

The Baltimore County Department of Aging (BCDA) State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) will be offering one-on-one Part D research assistance during Fall 2017, for the Medicare Part D Open Enrollment, from October 15 through December 7. Any changes in Part D coverage will become effective January 1, 2018. The schedule for Part D open enrollment events at Baltimore County senior centers is posted below.

After September 1, 2017, call the SHIP office at 410-887-2059 to schedule an appointment at a senior center convenient to you. Appointment times range from 9 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. SHIP will also provide appointment assistance at the BCDA Baby Boomer Senior Expo at Timonium Fairgrounds. The SHIP staff will assist Medicare beneficiaries and their families to select the most economical prescription plan that covers their drug needs. For those unable to come to the senior centers, Part D research will be done by phone.

About Part D

  • All Medicare Beneficiaries need to evaluate whether their current coverage is “creditable,” meaning equal to or better than the Medicare Prescription Drug Program. If you delay enrolling in the Medicare Prescription Drug Program when you are first eligible and your current prescription coverage is not “creditable,” you will pay a one percent higher premium per month for every month you did not join a plan.
  • When selecting a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan, it is important to make an educated decision when selecting or making changes to your current plan, or evaluating whether to keep your current plan or change to a new plan in the following calendar year.
    • Research and compare various drug plans with your medications' list to select the best coverage for you based on cost, coverage or access.
    • Call the Baltimore County SHIP Office at 410-887-2059. The SHIP staff will perform the online research that is necessary for you to select the most economical Part D plan which covers your prescription drugs.
  • The Medicare Prescription Drug Program has a monthly premium that varies with each plan, associated with its coverage.
    • Drug plans may also have deductibles.
    • Drug plans have co-payments toward the cost of prescriptions.
    • When you join the Medicare Prescription Drug Program and use the plan’s network pharmacies, you will pay less.
  • Each drug plan has a different list of drugs it will cover called a “formulary list.” You will need to check which drug plan covers all or most of your medications at the best cost. Exceptions may be granted by your drug plan.
  • There is extra help, federal and state, for those who are low-income eligible. It is important to apply in a timely manner.
    • Premiums can be reduced or eliminated
    • Other payments can be decreased.

2018 Part D Open Enrollment Plan at County Senior Centers

Appointments

Appointments may be made by calling SHIP at 410-887-2059, starting in September 2017 for appointments from October 15 to December 7, from 9 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.

Be sure to bring to your appointment:

  • a list of your medications exactly as written on the bottles and
  • your Medicare card

Fall Schedule and Locations

Dates

Senior Centers Location

Monday, October 16

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, October 17

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Wednesday, October 18

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Thursday, October 19

Essex: 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Monday, October 23

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Tuesday, October 24

Jacksonville: 3605A Sweet Air Road, Phoenix 21131

Wednesday, October 25

Ateaze: 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Thursday, October 26

Arbutus: 855A Sulphur Spring Road, Arbutus 21227

Monday, October 30

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Tuesday, October 31

Catonsville: 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Wednesday, November 1

Liberty: 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown 21133

Thursday, November 2

Essex: 600 Dorsey Avenue, Essex 21221

Monday, November, 6

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, November 7

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Wednesday, November 8

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Thursday, November 9

Essex: 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Monday, November 13

Ateaze: 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Tuesday, November 14

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Wednesday, November 15

Reisterstown: 12035 Reisterstown Road, Reisterstown 21136

Thursday, November 16

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Monday, November 20

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, November 21

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Wednesday, November 22

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Monday, November 27

Ateaze: 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Tuesday, November 28

Catonsville: 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Wednesday, November 29

Seven Oaks: 9210 Seven Courts Drive, Baltimore 21236

Thursday, November 30

Essex: 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Monday, December 4

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, December 5

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Wednesday, December 6

Liberty: 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown 21133

 
 
Revised June 13, 2017