Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Police and Fire News

 

Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: school

Booking photo of Frank Pugliese III, charged with possessing child pornography.A Baltimore City school teacher has been charged with possession of child pornography.

The suspect, Frank Joseph Pugliese III, is a teacher at Baltimore's Monarch Academy, a public charter school. He also was employed at the Compass Academy in Arbutus, a school for special needs children, for about 15 years.

Pugliese, 43, of the 1200 block of Tugwell Drive in Catonsville, is charged with possession of child pornography and distribution of child pornography, and has been released on bail.

In early August, detectives from the Crimes Against Children Unit conducted an online investigation of child pornography shared via the internet and found images of child pornography associated with the suspect's IP address.

Subsequent investigation found that Pugliese had downloaded and shared numerous files depicting videos and photographic images of prepubescent girls (ages six to 9).

Police executed a search and seizure warrant on Pugliese's Catonsville home on September 1. Detectives found evidence of deleted child pornography files.

Police have no evidence that Pugliese abused children or photographed or recorded children.

Schools re-open January 4, 2016 and Baltimore County police will be on the lookout over the next few weeks for drivers who pass school buses that are stopped to pick up or discharge students. Drivers put County children at risk for serious injury or death when passing a stopped school bus.

Maryland law states that vehicles must come to a complete stop on both sides of the street if there is no physical divider or barrier. Drivers may not pass the bus until all lights have ceased flashing.

  • Drivers passing school buses while the lights are flashing will be fined $570 and issued a 3-point penalty on their record.
  • Drivers who stop but then proceed while the lights are flashing will be fined $570 and a 2-point penalty will be charged.
  • If an accident occurs after the driver has stopped then proceeds to pass the bus, he or she will be fined $610 and will be charged 3-points.

Police will be patrolling throughout the County and will ticket drivers who do not obey. When a driver is pulled over, officers will check to see if the person has a valid operator’s license. The vehicle’s registration will be checked as well to see if there are any outstanding tickets. If a driver has a revoked or suspended license, he or she will be taken into custody.

Children don’t always pay attention when crossing the street. Be a responsible driver and stop when a school bus is loading and unloading students.

The Baltimore County Police Department reminds all drivers to stop when the lights on school buses are flashing.

Maryland law states that vehicles must come to a complete stop on both sides of the street if there is no physical divider or barrier. Drivers who pass the bus before all lights have ceased flashing may face the following consequences:

  • Drivers who pass a school bus while the lights are flashing will receive a citation that carries a maximum payable fine of $570 and a three-point penalty.
  • Drivers who stop but then proceed while the lights are flashing will receive a citation that carries a maximum payable fine of $570 and a two-point penalty.
  • Drivers who contribute to an accident when they fail to stop for a school bus while the lights are flashing may face additional penalties.

Children are not always aware of their surroundings and assume that drivers will stop for them. Youngsters also dart into the road without looking first for traffic. Allow room for the frequent stops that happen during the morning pick up and the afternoon drop off.

 
 

Revised September 27, 2016