Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Police and Fire News


Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: graduates

The Baltimore County Fire Department’s 107th Recruit Class graduates tonight, June 30, at 7 p.m. The ceremony will take place at George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, 938 York Road, Towson 21204.

Fire Chief John J. Hohman will present the certificates to the graduates. The Honorable Julie Ensor, Clerk of the Circuit Court, will administer the oath of office and Cantor Nancy Ginsberg will deliver the invocation and benediction.

The recruit class represents diverse backgrounds, including some trained as volunteer firefighters as well as active and retired military. The recruits trained for 19 weeks and will spend the next two years as Probationary Firefighters (PFF). They will continue their training in the field as they apply the skills learned in the classroom.

The following is a list of the recruits and their assignments:

PFF Tyler J. Abshagen – Station 16/Golden Ring
PFF Cassandra R. Anderson – Station 13/Westview
PFF Michael R. Beebe – Station 19/Garrison
PFF Carlos A. Boucaud Jr. – Station 7/Essex
PFF Megan S. Clester – Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF Joshua L. Colbourn – Station 10/Parkville
*PFF Thomas R. Cook Jr. – Station 6/Dundalk
PFF Daniel M. Dubbs – Station 17/ Texas
PFF Jeremy R. Edmondson – Station 12/Middle River
PFF James F. Gallo – Station 1/Towson
PFF Keith B. Hardesty Jr. – Station 10/Parkville
*PFF Emma L. Hartline – Station 3/Woodlawn
PFF Thomas B. Heaver – Station 1/Towson
PFF Timothy T. Jilinski – Station 10/Parkville
PFF Robert C. Jones – Station 18/Randallstown
PFF Rebecca L. Karwacki – Station 8/Fullerton
PFF Kevin I. Little – Station 8/Fullerton
PFF Cody I. Manley – Station 56/Franklin
PFF Casey M. McDonald – Station 1/Towson
PFF Demitri D. McFarlane – Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF Christopher C. Merk – Station 11/Hillendale
PFF Zachary T. Miller – Station 17/Texas
PFF Jamel A. Nesbit – Station 18/Randallstown
PFF Alexander M. Ongay – Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF William A. Packo – Station 17/Texas
PFF Dondre L. Phillips – Station 4/Catonsville
PFF Jason S. Robertson – Station 15/Eastview
PFF Matthew T. Roseborough – Station 15/Eastview
PFF Jason E. Schwalm – Station 55/Perry Hall
PFF Kevin B. Summers – Station 1/Towson
PFF Stephen T. Ventura – Station 5/Halethorpe
PFF Daniel J. Webster – Station 1/Towson
PFF Brandon R. Wilson – Station 4/Catonsville

*PFF Thomas R. Cook Jr. and PFF Emma L. Hartline were promoted to Probationary Paramedics during the ceremony.

The Baltimore County Fire Department will honor a fallen firefighter and first responders and civilians who  have performed exceptionally at  its annual Promotional  and Commendations Ceremony, scheduled  tomorrow, March 11, at  Goucher College's Kraushaar Auditorium.

The ceremony will begin at 7 p.m.

Besides awarding deserving first  responders and civilians,  this evening also will recognize 55 Fire Department members who have been promoted during the past year and 31 graduates of the 102nd Recruit Class of Probationary Firefighters. Graduation ceremonies for the 102nd class originally planned last January were postponed due to inclement weather.

County Executive Kevin Kamenetz and Fire Chief John Hohman are scheduled to speak.

Highlights of the awards portion of the program:

  • Recognition  of Reisterstown Volunteer Fire Co. Firefighter Gene Kirchner, who died of injuries suffered while trying to rescue a person trapped in an April  24, 2013 Reisterstown house fire.  Kirchner, 25, last spring was posthumously  presented the Medal of Honor -- the Fire Department's highest honor -- and the Purple Heart.
  • A Baltimore County police officer from the North Point Precinct will receive the Fire Department’s third highest award, the Bronze Star, for rescuing a man from a building fire in Dundalk.
  • Several citizens will receive awards. These include two women in Garrison who saved a person from choking; a boy in Eastview who called 911 and helped save his mother; a man in Rosedale who evacuated a warehouse following a train crash and explosion; a Parkville lifeguard who saved an infant by performing CPR; a woman in Perry Hall who saved the life of her neighbor by performing CPR; and a Parkton man who saved a man in cardiac arrest by performing CPR.
  • Crews from Dundalk, Eastview, Wise Avenue, Edgemere and North Point Edgemere will be recognized for rescuing 14 residents trapped in an apartment fire.
  • Crews from Golden Ring and Eastview that were the first on the scene of a train derailment and explosion in Rosedale will be honored.

Revised September 27, 2016