Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Police and Fire News

Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: fire department

Photo of the Baltimore County Fire Service Memorial Monument in Towson.The Baltimore County Fire Service’s annual Ceremony of Remembrance, which honors those members who have lost their lives in the line of duty, is scheduled for Sunday, May 22.

The ceremony will be held, rain or shine, at 2 p.m. at the Fire Service Memorial Monument in Patriot Plaza in Towson.

The Baltimore County Fire Department and Baltimore County Volunteer Fireman’s Association jointly organize the event.

Honoring Fallen Heroes

Forty-five Baltimore County firefighters and emergency medical personnel have died in the line of duty. These include 21 career members and 24 volunteer members.

Fire Chief John Hohman and other career and volunteer fire service leaders will honor the fallen by placing a wreath on the memorial shrine during the ceremony.

The shrine was built entirely with funds by members of the Fire Service. The memorial was sculpted in Portugal of Portuguese red granite, and consists of a Maltese cross flanked by two columns.

Inscribed on the monument are the names of the fallen and the words of Saint John, 15:13: “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

The promotional ceremony of 57 members of the Baltimore County Fire Department took place on May 5 at the Randallstown Community Center in Randallstown.

County Executive Kevin Kamenetz, Fire Chief John Hohman and other dignitaries joined family and friends at the ceremony. Clerk of the Court, Julie Ensor, officiated in the swearing in of the promotees.

The following were promoted:

Promoted to EMS Captain
Jeffrey Willats

Promoted to Fire Captain
John Cromwell Jr.
Paul Fenush
Duane Ludwig
Jay Miller
Dale Richardson
Michael Ruppert

Promoted to EMS Lieutenant
Michael Hoffman
Nicola Maguire
Nicole Nappi

Promoted to Fire Lieutenant
Aaron Carter
Michael Day
Evan Dayhoff
Michael Dennis
John Dentler
Robert Diegel
Anthony Espinosa
David Gouak Jr.
Thomas Kimbel
Andrew Laird
Matthew Lancaster
Kimberly Myers
Jason Porrovicchio
Donald Pruitt
Scott Wagner
Brandon Watkins
Eric Wentworth
Brent Williams
Gretchen Yingling

Promoted to Paramedic
Emily Cole

Promoted to FADO
Zachary Belcher
Ryan Bender
Andrew Capone
Kevin Cunningham
Joseph Fiedler III
Christopher Mack
Michael Murphy
Christopher Niner
Stephen Pearce
Norman Simpkins Jr.
Jason Sparks
Phillip Tran

Promoted to Fire Specialist
Chad Barben
David Blenman
James Ford
Nicholas Gamble
Michael Griffiths
Richard Hays
Nicholas Hornberger
Nathaniel Lewis
Erin Pasquali
Daniel Phillips
Michael Szczesniakowski
Michael Walters
Karen Zeiler

Promoted to Management Analyst II
Kathleen Suter

Promoted to Office Coordinator
Geegee Haith

The Baltimore County Fire Department's annual Commendations Ceremony will be held tonight, 7 p.m., at Loch Raven High School, 1212 Cowpens Ave., Towson. The ceremony honors first responders and civilians who have performed exceptionally over the past 12 months.

The night's highest award will be the Citizen's Medal of Honor, given posthumously to Phillips Fitzgerald Lee III, 82, of Hunt Valley. In January 2016, Mr. Lee ran back into inside his burning home to rescue his wife. Mr. Lee sustained critical burns and died of his injuries a few days later.

Other recognitions:

  • Two off-duty Fire personnel who stopped simultaneously to render aid at a serious motor vehicle crash on Pulaski Highway will receive Unit Citations.
  • Responders from BCoFD, the Baltimore County 911 Center, Maryland State Police, the Anne Arundel County and Baltmore City fire departments and the Maryland Transportation Authority Police will be honored for their roles in a tragic open water rescue at the Key Bridge.
  • A 16-year-old boy who helped a woman from a burning Parkville apartment building will receive the Citizen's Commendation.

County Executive Kevin Kamenetz and Fire Chief John Hohman will attend.

The Fire Department Commendations Board, comprised of career and volunteer personnel, considers nominations for awards based on specific criteria including intelligent decision making, skill, bravery and risk.


Revised June 28, 2016