Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Public Safety News

 

Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: children

Two children were seriously injured this afternoon in an apartment fire in the 2900 block of Lakebrook Circle in the Lansdowne area (21227).

The children's ages are believed to be six and 10. One was transported to the Johns Hopkins Children's Center, the other to the University of Maryland Medical Center. Both were transported by Baltimore County Fire Department medical personnel as Priority 1 patients.

Fire crews were dispatched at 1:26 p.m.; commanders called a second alarm at 1:32 p.m. Engine crews quickly located the two children inside the home, and personnel from Truck 5 (Halethorpe) rescued them.

About 12 families were displaced by this fire. The Red Cross was notified to assist.

The cause of the fire is under investigation by Baltimore County Police fire investigators.

About 40 pieces of fire equipment responded to this call.

Baltimore County Police will be keeping an eye on sex offenders that are not allowed to have contact with children this Halloween.

Out of the hundreds of registered sex offenders in Baltimore County, only about 10 percent have what is called a “no contact order” as part of their probation. This, in effect, prohibits them from handing out candy to children on Halloween. Registered sex offenders that are not under such an order are not prohibited from giving candy out to children.

Undercover officers will be watching the residences of persons with a no contact order and will be coordinating with Parole and Probation agents.

Anyone who suspects that someone who has a no contact order is giving candy to children is asked to call detectives at 410-887-5584. Any other suspicious activity can be reported to 911 or Baltimore County's non-emergency line at 410-887-2222.

Schools re-open January 4, 2016 and Baltimore County police will be on the lookout over the next few weeks for drivers who pass school buses that are stopped to pick up or discharge students. Drivers put County children at risk for serious injury or death when passing a stopped school bus.

Maryland law states that vehicles must come to a complete stop on both sides of the street if there is no physical divider or barrier. Drivers may not pass the bus until all lights have ceased flashing.

  • Drivers passing school buses while the lights are flashing will be fined $570 and issued a 3-point penalty on their record.
  • Drivers who stop but then proceed while the lights are flashing will be fined $570 and a 2-point penalty will be charged.
  • If an accident occurs after the driver has stopped then proceeds to pass the bus, he or she will be fined $610 and will be charged 3-points.

Police will be patrolling throughout the County and will ticket drivers who do not obey. When a driver is pulled over, officers will check to see if the person has a valid operator’s license. The vehicle’s registration will be checked as well to see if there are any outstanding tickets. If a driver has a revoked or suspended license, he or she will be taken into custody.

Children don’t always pay attention when crossing the street. Be a responsible driver and stop when a school bus is loading and unloading students.

 
 
Revised June 27, 2017