Skip Navigation

Baltimore County iWatch Logo

Police and Fire News


Baltimore County Police and Fire News

Official News Blog of Baltimore County police, fire, homeland security and emergency management. Call 911 to report crimes in progress and emergencies.
Keyword: bcopd

The Baltimore County Police Department is warning residents of a recent increase in scam phone calls pertaining to jury duty.

The caller will claim to be from the Baltimore County Sheriff's Office and tell the resident that he or she has missed jury duty and must pay a fine in order to clear the record. These scam callers will request that the resident purchase a pre-paid debit card and call back with the number on the card. By doing this, they defraud people into giving them money.

The Baltimore County Sheriff's Office will never ask you for money over the phone. If you receive one of these phone calls, hang up and report the incident to your local precinct.

If you have questions about jury duty, you may also contact the Office of the Jury Commissioner.

The Baltimore County Police Department’s 143rd Recruit Class graduation will take place tonight, June 15, at 7:30 p.m. The ceremony will take place at Notre Dame Preparatory School, 815 Hampton Lane, Towson 21286.

County Executive Kevin Kamenetz and Police Chief James Johnson will present the awards. The Chief and Mr. William J. McMahon, Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions, will present the diplomas to the recruits.

The Honorable Julie Ensor, Clerk of the County Circuit Court, will administer the oath of office and Departmental Chaplain Rabbi Norman Lowenthal will preside over the benediction and adjournment.

The recruits trained for 27 weeks and will spend the next two years in the field as they apply the skills learned in the classroom.

The following is a list of the recruits and their assignments.

Precinct 1/Wilkens

Officer Rachel M. Christopher
Officer Deneen L. Flores
Officer Keith L. Parham

Precinct 2/Woodlawn

Officer Derek A. Kolb
Officer Cinthia I. Ruiz

Precinct 3/Franklin

Officer Brian D. Beckford
Officer Kyle D. Cavey
Officer Nicole M. Grover
Officer Xiyu Lin
Officer Derek S. Love
Officer Nicholas A. McElfish
Officer Michael G. McQuaid
Officer Kendall L. Rich
Officer Mikela A. Vann

Precinct 4/Pikesville

Officer Amanda C. Childs
Officer Jarrell K. Eaton
Officer Bishop A. Elder
Officer James M. Fitch
Officer Jeremiah A. Israel
Officer Andrew L. Muska

Precinct 6/Towson

Officer Brenton G. Bieker
Officer Mongo D. Demby
Officer Samantha L. Dixon
Officer Nicholas J. Dunlop
Officer Justin S. Linz
Officer Samantha R. Morgan
Officer Nicole M. Scatton

Precinct 11/Essex

Officer Brendan A. Huesman
Officer Trae R. Lindsay
Officer Shelby A. Sims
Officer Trevon T. Winston

Precinct 12/Dundalk

Officer Anthony M. Abbene
Officer Dawn H. Bowers
Officer Anthony P. Brewer
Officer Brianna M. Garrison
Officer Jacqueline A. Mitchell
Officer Jose S. Pendleton
Officer Sheldon J. Reed
Officer Zachary D. Whitman

Cecil County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Sandeep Klair
Deputy Michael W. O'Donnell
Deputy Max A. Vivino

Havre de Grace Police Department

Officer Jarid C. Coleman

Original release (June 11, 2016  8:44 p.m.):

Baltimore County Police Continue to Investigate Death at Eastpoint Mall in Dundalk

At this time, investigators have determined that the victim from the homicide at Eastpoint Mall was targeted by a suspect. Police believe that there is no current threat to the safety of the public in this area. 

Just after 1:00 p.m., Baltimore County Police received a call for a woman found lying on the parking lot at Eastpoint Mall. The woman was found inside a covered parking area near the mall administrative office entrance, suffering from multiple stab wounds to the upper body. The victim was taken by Baltimore County Fire personnel to the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, where she was pronounced deceased. Initially, detective were unable to identify the victim or a motive for the crime. 

Homicide detectives reviewed video and were able to determine that the victim was targeted by a suspect. The victim of the homicide is Malia Delores Wagner, 60, of the 400-block of 52nd Street, 21224. Police do not have any suspect details to release at this time, due to the on-going investigation.


Revised September 27, 2016