Skip Navigation

Image of the Baltimore County Historic Courthouse

Baltimore County News

Stay informed of what's happening in Baltimore County.
Keyword: recreation and parks

by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation & Parks 

Hike our beautiful parks. Have a great time. Get fit and fresh air. Earn prizes. Such a deal!

Nature Quest is back at Baltimore County’s parks. Grab your Nature Quest passport and hike 13 trails throughout Baltimore County to find Nature Quest posts. Complete a rubbing of the plaque in your passport. Collect five rubbings and you’re on your way to free tickets to the Nature Quest Fest this fall. Collect nine, and you’ll earn Fest prizes.    

Pick up your passport at Benjamin Banneker ParkCromwell Valley Park, Oregon Ridge Park, Honeygo Run Regional Park, Maryland Center for Agriculture and Farm Park, Marshy Point ParkLake Roland Park, Red Run Stream Valley Trail or Fort Howard Park.  You can also get a passport at your local Wegmans grocery store or online at Nature Quest .

Your passport to outdoor fun is waiting.


By Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation and Parks

From fireworks high in the sky to the mud between your toes; from classical to jazz; from canoeing to hiking the trails—have we got a July for you! Take a look at the Baltimore County Recreation and Parks July 2017 Happenings listed below and make a commitment to yourself to enjoy July like you’ve never enjoyed it before!

Saturday, July 1

Sunday, July 2

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 4

Wednesday, July 5

Thursday, July 6

Friday, July 7

Saturday, July 8

Sunday, July 9

Tuesday, July 11

Wednesday, July 12

Thursday, July 13

Friday, July 14

Saturday, July 15

Sunday, July 16

Tuesday, July 18

Wednesday, July 19

Thursday, July 20

Friday, July 21

Saturday, July 22

Sunday, July 23

Tuesday, July 25

Wednesday, July 26

Thursday, July 27

Friday, July 28

Saturday, July 29

Sunday, July 30

Monday, July 31

Therapeutic Recreation Camps

Four-Week Camps: July 3 to July 28

Five-Week Camps: June 26 to July 28

PAL Summer Programs

In addition to all the great programs listed above, there are nine incredible PAL Centers located throughout the County with exciting and fun programs for youngsters ages 8 to 17. Contact a PAL center closest to you to learn more about these programs.   

Programs are run by Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations. 

Baltimore County boasts more than 200 beautiful parks. From the small park around the corner, to those big beautiful parks with sites and amenities well worth the short drive to see and experience. Come on now, its summer, it’s time to see our parks up close and personal!


by Michael Schneider, Baltimore County Recreation & Parks

Check out these weekend goings on, sure to make June a “no bored, no excuses” month.  The fun starts at Baltimore County Recreation and Parks, from the Great Grapes Winefest to an insect safari, jazz concert and summer campouts.

Friday, June 2

- Lax Splash Lacrosse Tournament (through Sunday, June 4) Carroll Manor Recreation Council

- Bookworm Story Time – Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Saturday, June 3

- Baseball All Star Day  Lutherville Timonium  

- 2nd Annual Sgt. Marvin T. Haw IV Boating Safety Day  Middle River  

- “The First Americans Were Africans” Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- Great Grapes Winefest   Oregon Ridge Park

- Music in the Woods Oregon Ridge Nature Center

- Habitat Restoration Team – Weed Warriors Days   Cromwell Valley Park

- Tree Bark Baskets   Cromwell Valley Park

- Canoe Lake Roland Lake Roland

- Yoga in the Park Lake Roland

Sunday, June 4

- Great Grapes Winefest   Oregon Ridge Park

- Forest Animals and Their Tracks   Cromwell Valley Park

- Eastwood Dance Recital   Berkshire - Eastwood

Friday, June 9

- Textured Wall Pocket (workshop concludes Friday, June 23) Holt park

- Morning Bird Walk   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Saturday, June 10

- Colonial Market Fair Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- Habitat Restoration Team – Weed Warriors Days   Cromwell Valley Park

- Three Sisters Garden   Cromwell Valley Park

- Fishing Fun Day Lake Roland

- Habitat and Trail Team Lake Roland

- Insect Safari  Holt park

- Bonfire and Hike Night   Holt park

- Dance Recital   Gray Charles

- Nature Quest Scavenger Hunt (Countywide Park Quest)   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Sunday, June 11

- Colonial Market Fair Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- The Little Red Hen and Friends Cromwell Valley Park

- Starry Night  Holt Park

- Dance Recital   Gray Charles

- Flea Market at Southeast Regional Recreation Center    North Point Village

- Nature Quest Scavenger Hunt (Countywide Park Quest)   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Thursday, June 15 through Sunday, June 18

- 7-8 Baseball Tournament   North Point Village

Friday, June 16

- Time Keepers:  Planets and Stars Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- Essex Baseball Tournament at Eastern Regional Park (through Saturday, June 17) Essex Stembridge

- A Night Under the Stars   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Saturday, June 17

- 10th Annual Juneteenth Celebration   Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- Geocaching in the Park   Cromwell Valley Park

- White Marsh All Star Game at Honeygo Regional Park   White Marsh Recreation Council  

- Composting – Brown Gold!   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

- Summer Solstice Campout (through Sunday morning June 18)    Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Sunday, June 18

- Father’s Day Cookout & Cornhole     Cromwell Valley Park

- Composting – Brown Gold!   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Friday, June 23

- Summer Solstice Bonfire & S’mores   Cromwell Valley Park

- Great American Campout (continues through Saturday, June 24)   Lake Roland

- Under 17 Softball Tournament   Berkshire - Eastwood

Saturday, June 24

- Jazz Concert   Benjamin Banneker Historical Park and Museum

- Habitat Restoration Team – Weed Warriors Days    Cromwell Valley Park

- Pollinator Party   Cromwell Valley Park

- Fairies & Dragons   Lake Roland

- Acorn Hill Nature Drop-In  Lake Roland

- Jam n’ Bread   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

- Edgestock Music Festival  Edgemere - Sparrows Point

Sunday, June 25

- Just For Kids – Insects   Cromwell Valley Park

- Jam n’ Bread   Oregon Ridge Nature Center

Programs are run by Baltimore County Recreation and Parks and Nature Council volunteers. Many programs are free, but some ask for a donation or have a small fee. Be sure to check the websites to confirm times and locations.  

What better way to start off your summer then spending it with your friends at Baltimore County Recreation and Parks.  There are more than 200 beautiful parks in Baltimore County. Get out and enjoy!


 
 
Revised September 26, 2016