Skip Navigation
Department of Planning
Print this page.
 

Department
Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What does the Department do?

A. The Department:

  • Prepares a countywide Master Plan and detailed community plans
  • Makes recommendations on zoning and development issues
  • Prepares capital budget and program recommendations
  • Serves as staff to the Planning Board, Landmarks Preservation Commission, and Design Review Panel
  • Legislative analysis
  • Community planning
  • Demographic analysis

Back to top

Q. How can I find out what is happening in my community?

A. Subscribe to the Community Update bi-monthly newsletter to receive notification of meetings and upcoming events.  You may also call your community planner at 410-887-3480, or contact them at the e-mail addresses listed below:

A community planner is assigned to each of Baltimore County’s seven council districts.

1st District:  Dennis Wertz (dwertz@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Arbutus, Baltimore Highlands, Catonsville, English Consul, Lansdowne, Violetville, Patapsco Granite South

2nd District: Diana Itter (ditter@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Garrison Forest, Greenspring Ave., Pikesville, Reisterstown, Ruxton

3rd District: Jessie Bialek (jbialek@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Cockeysville, Cub Hill, Glen Arm, Glyndon, Hereford, Hunt Valley, Jacksonville, Kingsville, Lutherville, Phoenix, Reisterstown, Sparks, Timonium

4th District: David Green (dagreen@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Liberty Road, Lochearn, Owings Mills, Patapsco Granite North, Randallstown, Reisterstown, Woodlawn

5th District: Donnell Zeigler (dzeigler@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Drumcastle, Honeygo, Loch Raven, Parkville, Perry Hall, Towson

6th District: Laurie Hay (lhay@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Back River, Bowleys Quarters, Essex, Middle River, Overlea, White Marsh

7th District: John Alexander (jalexander@baltimorecountymd.gov)
Dundalk, Edgemere, Essex, North Point, Rosedale, Sparrows Point

Back to top

Q. Where and when does the Planning Board meet?

A. Typically, the Planning Board meets on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month at the County Courts Building, 401 Bosley Avenue, Room 407, Towson, MD 21204. View the Planning Board meeting schedule for details.

Back to top

Revised October 14, 2009

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*