Department of Planning
Print this page.

Sustainable Communities

In 2010, Governor O’Malley signed into law Smart, Green and Growing legislation (House Bill 475, 2010 session, “The Sustainable Communities Act of 2010”) passed by the Maryland General Assembly to enhance the future of growth, development and sustainability in Maryland. This law established the “Sustainable Communities” designation in order to strengthen reinvestment and revitalization in Maryland’s older communities.

The seven approved Sustainable Communities in Baltimore County are: 

For more information and to view the interactive map with sustainable community boundaries, visit the Maryland Department of Planning, Sustainable Communities Web page.

Staff Contact: Jeff Mayhew
Phone: 410-887-3480

Revised February 4, 2016

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*