Department of Health
Print this page.

Tobacco Sales Violation

Baltimore County Department of Health
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212-2130

TTY users call via Maryland Relay

The Baltimore County Department of Health is responsible for taking enforcement actions when the following portion of the County's tobacco laws are violated:

  • Tobacco products cannot be stored or displayed within reach of the public.

  • Tobacco products cannot be sold to minors (persons under the age of 18 years old).

  • Retailers who violate these laws are subject to civil fines and may have to attend a license review hearing.

    Retailers must demand and examine identification for any tobacco buyer who appears to be under the age of 26 years.


Do you have ideas on how to stop tobacco sales to minors? Join the Baltimore County Department of Health at one of four interactive session. Each is scheduled from 5:30 to 7 p.m. at a Baltimore County Public Library (BCPL) branch. Meeting dates and locations are below. For more information call 410-887-3828 or email

  • June 4, at the BCPL’s Cockeysville Branch, 9833 Greenside Drive, Cockeysville 21030

  • June 9, at the BCPL’s Rosedale Branch, 6105 Kenwood Avenue, Rosedale 21237

  • June 16, at the BCPL’s Woodlawn Branch, 1811 Woodlawn Drive, Woodlawn 21207

  • June 18, at the BCPL’s Reisterstown Branch, 21 Cockeys Mill Road, Reisterstown 21136

Report Retail Violations

To report retailers who violate the law or to file a complaint contact us by email, call 410-887-3828, or send a letter to:

Baltimore County Department of Health
ATTN: Tobacco Enforcement
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212

Revised June 1, 2015

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*