Skip Navigation
Department of Health
Print this page.
 

Animal Laws and Policies

Baltimore County Animal Services
13800 Manor Road
Baldwin, Maryland 21013
Email: animalservices@baltimorecountymd.gov

Phone: 410-887-PAWS (7297)
Fax: 410-817-4257
TTY users call via Maryland Relay

Citations for Violation of Animal Laws

Individuals may submit an affidavit of complaint describing what they believe to be a violation of the County’s animal laws to the Baltimore County Animal Services Division. The affidavit must be notarized. After the notarized affidavit is submitted, the Animal Services Division will determine whether a citation is warranted. 

If a citation has been issued, the cited party may:

  • pay the fine within five days; or
  • request an appeal hearing in writing within five days. Both parties will be scheduled to appear and testify before the Animal Hearing Board. In order for the Board to uphold the charges in the citation and levy a fine, the complainant must appear.

Instructions are printed on the citations.

Affidavits of complaint are public information; therefore, anyone may review any complaint filed. If you are notified by the Animal Services Division that a complaint was filed against you, you may obtain the name and address of the complainant (if available) by written request.

The 2003 Baltimore County Code contain the laws (PDF) regarding Animal Services.

Back to top

Lost  Pets

County law requires that persons who find or otherwise come into possession of a stray animal must turn the animal over to the Animal Services Division within 24 hours. The Baltimore County Animal Shelter is the only shelter in Baltimore County that is authorized by law to hold lost animals for their owners; therefore, persons have only one shelter to call or visit to find their pets. 

After four business days, including Saturdays, any pet not claimed by its owner may be adopted by the person who found it for the cost of a rabies vaccination and County animal license. Healthy, adoptable pets are held as long as there is adequate space and resources to keep them. For more information, contact the Animal Services Division by calling 410-887-5961.

Spaying or Neutering of Adopted Animals

Persons who adopt unaltered pets from the County Animal Shelter are required under the law, to have their new pet spayed or neutered within thirty days. Pet owners receive a discount voucher and a list of participating veterinarians and clinics. Adopters who do not comply are subject to a $100 fine for each month that they fail to spay or neuter their pet.

Back to top

Revised December 30, 2013

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*