Requesting Fire Department Records
Public Records Kept by Baltimore County Fire Department
The Fire Department is the custodian of the following public records: fire reports, hazardous materials reports and fire inspection reports. (Medical records are not public documents.)
Documents regarding federal mandated regulations of certain chemicals and hazardous materials are maintained by the Maryland Department of the Environment.
Obtaining a Fire Incident Report
A fire incident report is generated by the Fire Department each time a piece of fire apparatus is dispatched to assist with a fire, hazardous materials incident, rescue or other dangerous situation. Fire incident reports are public records, available upon request to anyone.
- There is a $10 fee to obtain a copy of a fire incident report.
To request a copy of a fire incident report, print the fire incident report form (PDF) and carefully follow the printed instructions, including the instructions for returning it by mail.
Obtaining Patient Care Reports
A patient care report is generated whenever the Fire Department assists a sick or injured person. These reports contain confidential medical information and are not part of the public record.
Copies of patient care records are available to our patients, their representatives and others as specified by Maryland Public General code. (Health-General, Title 4. Statistics And Records, Subtitle 3. "Confidentiality Of Medical Records" )
The Fire Department's policies and procedures for the release of patient care reports comply with restrictions specified under state law. At the same time, the Fire Department strives to make the process of obtaining copies of records as easy as possible for those seeking them. However, to allow for processing time, no walk-in requests will be accepted.
- There is a $10 fee to perform a record search and, if located obtain a copy of a patient care report. No refunds will be issued.
Please select from the following list to obtain a patient care report.
- I am an attorney representing:
- I am the patient
- I am the parent of a patient who is a minor child
- I am a court-appointed guardian or custodian of the patient
- I am a personal representative of a deceased patient
- I am authorized to consent to health care for the patient
If you are not able to find a report that meets your needs, email the Records Division, or call 410-887-2071, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Maryland law requires that we respond to your request within 20 working days. The Fire Department makes every effort to respond to requests as quickly as possible.
Baltimore County Fire Department does not bill for ambulance service provided by career or volunteer EMS units, or by EMS personnel from nearby counties that provide mutual aid. Ambulance service to Baltimore County residents is a service provided and paid for with taxpayer revenue.
Revised April 10, 2014