Transfer and Recordation Section
400 Washington Avenue, Room 150
Towson, Maryland 21204-4665
Hours of operation: Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email your questions or comments to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Mission: The Transfer and Recordation Section is responsible for reviewing all Deeds and other property related documents prior to a document being finalized and recorded by the Land Records Office of the Circuit Court. The section attempts to insure accuracy and completeness in all transaction and to ascertain and collect all transfer and recordation taxes due Baltimore County.
Important Tips and Information from the Transfer and Recordation Section
All deeds and other property related documents must be accompanied by a completed Maryland State Intake Sheet www.courts.state.md.us/courtforms/circuit/intakesheet.html
A deed which changes or transfers ownership of property must be accompanied by a lien certificate (PDF). A deed submitted to the Transfer and Recordation Section without a lien certificate will not be processed.
All deeds with agricultural use and partial transfer deeds must initially be approved by the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation located at 300 E. Joppa Road, Room 602, Towson, Maryland 21204.
Baltimore County Transfer Tax Rate………………..1.5% of consideration
State Recordation ………………………………… $2.50 each $500 (or fraction thereof) of the consideration noted or for an instrument of writing securing a debt or the principal amount of the debt secured.
Checks are to be made payable to: Baltimore County MD. All documents and payment should be mailed to: Office of Budget and Finance, Transfer and Recordation Section
400 Washington Avenue, Room 154, Towson, Maryland 21204
For legal references, please see:
Article 10, Title 1, Deeds, Baltimore County Code, 2003 www.baltimorecountymd.gov/Agencies/law/countycode.html
Article 11, Title 3, Recordation and Transfer Taxes, Baltimore County Code, 2003 www.baltimorecountymd.gov/Agencies/law/countycode.html
Annotated Code of Maryland, Tax-Property Article, §12-101-118 michie.lexisnexis.com/maryland
For information concerning State Transfer Tax and Recording Fees, please contact the Baltimore County Circuit Court, Land Records office, 410-887-3088.
Revised February 10, 2014