Skip Navigation
Office of Budget and Finance
Print this page.
 

Additional Information Concerning Parking and Automated Enforcement

Phone Numbers

  • Baltimore County Parking Services: 410-887-8153
  • Baltimore City Parking Enforcement: 410-396-4080
  • MVA: 800-950-1682
  • Baltimore County District Court: 410-512-2102
  • State of Maryland Safe Speed Program: 877-578-7440

MVA Flag Letters

An MVA flag warning letter is mailed to a vehicle owner in lieu of a registration renewal application. The flag-warning letter advises the owner that his or her registration may not be renewed until the owner has resolved any outstanding parking, red light or speed violations. Vehicle registration will be flagged after 60 days of non-payment of an individual violation.

VR-119 Form

This is a form provided by the MVA to local jurisdictions and is issued to a vehicle owner after payment of all outstanding parking, red light or speed violations. It serves as proof to the MVA that the vehicle owner has satisfied the delinquent violations and releases any flag on the owner’s registration renewal application. You may obtain the form from the Violation Payment Office after payment of the violations. If payment is made with cash or money order, the release will be issued the same day. The release will be issued the following business day when payment is made using a Discover Card, Visa or Master Card. If payment is made with a check the release will be issued after 15 business days. If you do not know your violation number you may call 410-887-8153 or you may email us at payments@baltimorecountymd.gov. You must provide the vehicle registration number with the request.

Late Fees

Baltimore County charges a late fee of $10 per month or fraction thereof for any violation not paid within 15 days of issuance. An additional $15 fee will be charged by the County for issuing a flag warning letter and the MVA will charge an additional $30 at the time the vehicle is registered.

Court Date

If you plan on contesting the matter to the Baltimore County District Court, you must do so within 10 days of issuance of a parking violation and 40 days for a red light or speed violation. Instructions on how to obtain a trial date are located on the back of the actual violation. If you have misplaced the original notice you may write to Parking Services Office, Room 150, Old Courthouse, 400 Washington Ave., Towson, Maryland, 21204-4665. Please be certain to include your name, address, tag number and original signature. Please note Maryland law assumes that the registered owner of the vehicle is the responsible party for all violations issued to that vehicle.

  • A vehicle is subject to impoundment if it has three parking citations that are more than 30 days past due.
  • Unpaid violations will result in collection activity being initiated with the District Court of Maryland. If you have any questions in this regard, please call 410-887-8153.

School Zone Speed Monitoring System

Persons receiving a citation for a School Zone Speed Monitoring System violation should review the information contained on the back of the citation and proceed accordingly. If you have any questions regarding a citation you have received, you may call 1-877-578-7452.

State of Maryland Safe Speed Program

Persons receiving a citation for the State of Maryland Safe Speed Program should review the information contained on the back of the citation and proceed accordingly. This program is not sponsored by Baltimore County. If you have any questions, you may call 877-578-7440.

Revised March 26, 2014

Was This Page Helpful?
Fields marked with * are required.
Page Rating*