Frequently Asked Questions
- Why is there a convenience fee?
- What are the office hours, address and directions?
- Who can I call for related information, such as the MVA and Baltimore City Parking Enforcement?
- Where can I pay my citations and what are the acceptable forms of payment?
- How can I obtain a VR 119 flag release?
- How can I get my citation number?
- What do I need to know about the MVA administrative fee?
- How do I request a court date to contest a ticket?
- Why is the vehicle owner is responsible for payment?
- Why did I receive a parking citation if I had a valid handicap placard?
- What do I need to know if I am being sued by Baltimore County for unpaid parking or red light citations?
A. If paying by credit card, you will pay a $2.50 convenience fee. This convenience fee covers costs associated with credit card transactions and is not a fee that Baltimore County can pass along to the general tax payer. If paying by electronic check, you will not pay a convenience fee.
A. The Parking and Red Light Citation Office is open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. The office is located in the Historic Courthouse, Room 151, 400 Washington Avenue, Towson, Maryland, 21204.
Coming from the West
From the west, take 695 to exit 26. Turn left at the end of the exit. Turn right onto York Road. Continue on York Road until the third light at Washington Avenue. Turn right onto Washington Avenue. At the second light, Pennsylvania Avenue, turn right. The Historic Courthouse is the first building on the left.
Coming from the East
From the east, take 695 to exit 26. Turn left at the end of the exit onto York Road. Continue on York Road until the fourth light at Washington Avenue. Turn right onto Washington Avenue. At the second light, Pennsylvania Avenue, turn right. The Historic Courthouse is the first building on the left.
A. Baltimore County Parking and Red Light Citations at 410-887-8153
Baltimore City Parking Enforcement at 410-396-4080
MVA at 1-800-950-1682
District Court at 410-512-2102
To report a broken parking meter, call the Baltimore County Revenue Authority at 410-887-3127
A.Baltimore County parking and red light citations can be paid in person at the Parking and Red Light Citation Office, Historic Courthouse, Room 151, 400 Washington Avenue, Towson, Maryland, 21204, by calling 410-887-2777 or online.
When paying by telephone or the web, you can make payments by electronic check, Visa, MasterCard or Discover Card. When paying at the cashier’s window, you can pay by cash, check, money order or Discover Card.
A $2.50 convenience fee will be added to all electronic credit card payments.
A. To obtain your VR 119 flag release, you must have paid all citations in full including penalties. To request your release, you must call the Baltimore County Parking and Red Light Citations section at 410-887-8153. Releases will be issued the same day the payment was made if paying in person by cash, money order or Discover Card. If the citations are paid online or by telephone, the release will be issued the following business day. If paying by personal check, the release will be issued after 15 business days.
A. Baltimore County will provide your citation number by email or telephone. To request your citation number call 410-887-8153 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Baltimore County will need your vehicle tag number to complete the request.
A. A $30 MVA administrative fee is applied after a ticket is unpaid for 60 days.
A. Directions for contesting a ticket are located on the back of the parking citation and the front bottom portion of the red light citation. Parking citations must be contested within 10 days of issuance and red light citations within 40 days of issuance. If you do not have your original citation, you may write to the Parking and Red Light Citation Office, Historic Courthouse, Room 151, 400 Washington Avenue, Towson, Maryland, 21204 to request a court date. You must include your name, address, tag number and original signature.
A. Maryland State Law assumes that the registered owner of the vehicle is the responsible party.
A. Baltimore County will ticket if your handicap placard is not visible or is expired. The County also will ticket if your placard is visible but you are parked at a meter in excess of the time allowed for handicapped parking. Vehicles with handicapped placards are allowed double the time limit of the meter.
A. Baltimore County files a lawsuit with the District Court of Maryland after a ticket goes unpaid for 10 months. Please call 410-887-8153 for more information.
Revised March 26, 2014