Skip Navigation

Outreach Initiative

Medicare Prescription Drug Program Open Enrollment

The Baltimore County Department of Aging (BCDA) State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) will be offering one-on-one Part D research assistance during Fall 2016, for the Medicare Part D Open Enrollment, from October 15 through December 7. Any changes in Part D coverage will become effective January 1, 2017. The schedule for Part D open enrollment events at Baltimore County senior centers is posted below.

After September 1, 2016, call the SHIP office at 410-887-2059 to schedule an appointment at a senior center convenient to you. Appointment times range from 9 a.m. to 1:45 p.m., unless otherwise noted. SHIP will also provide enrollment assistance at the BCDA Baby Boomer Senior Expo at Timonium Fairgrounds. The SHIP staff will assist Medicare beneficiaries and their families to select the most economical prescription plan that covers their drug needs. For those unable to come to the senior centers, Part D research will be done by phone.

About Part D

  • All Medicare Beneficiaries need to evaluate whether their current coverage is “creditable,” meaning equal to or better than the Medicare Prescription Drug Program. If you delay enrolling in the Medicare Prescription Drug Program when you are first eligible and your current prescription coverage is not “creditable,” you will pay a one percent higher premium per month for every month you did not join a plan.
  • When selecting a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan, it is important to make an educated decision when selecting or making changes to your current plan, or evaluating whether to keep your current plan or change to a new plan in the following calendar year.
    • Research and compare various drug plans with your medications' list to select the best coverage for you based on cost, coverage or access.
    • Call the Baltimore County SHIP Office at 410-887-2059. The SHIP staff will perform the online research that is necessary for you to select the most economical Part D plan which covers your prescription drugs.
  • The Medicare Prescription Drug Program has a monthly premium that varies with each plan, associated with its coverage.
    • Drug plans may also have deductibles.
    • Drug plans have co-payments toward the cost of prescriptions.
    • When you join the Medicare Prescription Drug Program and use the plan’s network pharmacies, you will pay less.
  • Each drug plan has a different list of drugs it will cover called a “formulary list.” You will need to check which drug plan covers all or most of your medications at the best cost. Exceptions may be granted by your drug plan.
  • There is extra help, federal and state, for those who are low-income eligible. It is important to apply in a timely manner.
    • Premiums can be reduced or eliminated
    • Other payments can be decreased.

2017 Part D Open Enrollment Plan

Be sure to bring a list of your medications exactly as written on the bottles and your Medicare card to your appointment. 

Fall Schedule and Locations: 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Dates

Senior Center Location

Monday, October 17

Lansdowne: 424 Third Avenue, Baltimore 21227

Tuesday, October 18

Liberty: 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown 21133

Wednesday, October 19

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Thursday, October 20

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Friday, October 21

Catonsville: 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Monday, October 24

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, October 25

Jacksonville: 3605A Sweet Air Road, Phoenix 21131

Wednesday, October 26

Baby Boomer Senior Expo, Timonium Fair Grounds, Cow Palace, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Thursday, October 27

Baby Boomer Senior Expo, Timonium Fair Grounds, Cow Palace, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Friday, October 28

Seven Oaks: 9210 Seven Courts Drive, Baltimore 21236

Monday, October 31

Essex: 600 Dorsey Avenue, Essex 21221

Tuesday, November 1

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204 

Wednesday, November 2

Ateaze: 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Thursday, November 3

Parkville: 8601 Harford, Road, Parkville 21234

Friday, November 4

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Monday, November 7

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Wednesday, November 9

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Thursday, November 10

Catonsville: 501 North Rolling Road, Catonsville 21228

Monday, November 14

Arbutus: 855A Sulphur Spring Road, Arbutus 21227

Tuesday, November 15

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

Wednesday, November 16

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Thursday, November 17

Essex: 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Friday, November 18

Reisterstown: 12035 Reisterstown Road, Reisterstown 21136

Monday, November 21

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, November 22

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Wednesday, November 23

Ateaze: 7401 Holabird Avenue, Dundalk 21222

Monday, November 28

Cockeysville: 10535 York Road, Cockeysville 21030

Tuesday, November 29

Essex: 600 Dorsey Avenue, Essex 21221

Wednesday, November 30

Liberty: 3525 Resource Drive, Randallstown 21133

Thursday, December 1

Essex: 600 Dorsey Road, Essex 21221

Friday, December 2

Parkville: 8601 Harford Road, Parkville 21234

Monday, December 5

Pikesville: 1301 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville 21208

Tuesday, December 6

Bykota: 611 Central Avenue, Towson 21204

 
 

Revised August 5, 2016